We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great apartment in perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canal Boutique Apartments

Canal Boutique Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canal Boutique Apartments to your Saves list
Canal Boutique Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Keizersgracht 304, 1016 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great apartment in perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I rented this apartment in march 13, excellent location on keizergracht in Amsterdam. The apartment is a bit smaller than the pictures would have you to believe, but it was a good size for two people. The appliances were pretty cool, there is a washer/dryer, an iron, and the sofacan turn into a bed. The bathroom is absolutely tiny, and I could barely turn in the shower, so I have to take points away for that. The oven takes some getting used to, it functions as a microwave and kind of a convection cooker. The bedroom is a good size, and at night it gets perfectly dark and you get a good sleep. For the smokers, there is also a little deck you can sit out on and relax.The biggest drawback was there was no maid service for the six days I was there, so you have to wash your towels and even though we requested more linen, didnt get any. I would stay here again, solid price for the location and the size.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great location . A short tram ride away from Amsterdam Central then a few minutes walk from the tramstop we arrived early at the Apartments. Far too early but a call to the owner and they were only too happy to meet us and let us in early to drop off the bags so we could enjoy a walk around.
We returned after the Apartment had been cleaned and were more than happy with the standard and cleanliness. We all spent the next few minutes connecting up to the free Wi-Fi and unpacking for our two night stay. Our Apartment was nice and quiet at the back of the property and a very good size with plenty of seating. Everything is supplied, Crockery, Cutlery, Kettle, Toaster, Oven/Microwave, Hairdryer & Bits for the Bathroom.
The Apartment consisted of 2 Double and 1 twin room. Beds were very comfy and the Linen was nice and clean.
Bathroom was of a good size with twin sink and a Spa bath. The only downer was the pump noise every time someone flushed the loo.
Again on departure, as we werent leaving until late afternoon , owner was more than happy to keep the bags safe until we were ready to head back to the train station, which left us free to enjoy the rest of our last day.
Would recommend these Apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very nice ground floor canal house fairly central location in a quite part of the city. The building itself had other tenants/guests and the coming and going was quite noisy. We fed back they could use carpets in the hallway.

That aside, the flat was very spacious, clean, and done to a modern standard. The unit had all mod cons you could need (stove, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, etc.) Good size bathroom and shower, comfy beds with decent pillows, black out curtains as well as sheer ones for semi-privacy, tv, internet and good amount of dishes. Great bathroom/shower, lots of space.

The person who greeted us was friendly and gave us tips on places to see and do. Check-in and out was seamless (different person checked us out). The property felt secure both front door and our unit.

Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just returned from a citybreak. Very pleseed with the location of the appts. Centrally located and only a few minutes walk to the local attractions. Appt finished to a high standard and very comfortable. The owners were very flexible to our needs and were happy to meet us early when we arrived and also to meet us in the evening to pick up out bags. The local area has a nice selection of bars and restaurants and had it not been so cold it wouold have been pleasant to wander around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

First trip to Amsterdam for us. Great apartments in a central location. Quiet and comfortable but only five minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of the centre of this friendly city. Temperature was belo or around freezing for much of our stay and it was great to be able to pop back to a warm and cosy apartment at any time of the day. The best bed we have slept in other than our own for some years and free wifi, which was welcome having been charged £5 a day on some of our previous holidays elsewhere.
We shall return!

Room Tip: If you need to stock up on provisions, walk past the small convenience store with a penguin on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We, my husband and I, stayed here 4 nights end of September 2012 in room 11. Check in was ok.
First impression of the apartment and the large balcony was nice. After a long flight we went to sleep.
Next morning:
- Fridge was full with junk from previous guests
- Dishwasher was filled with dirty dishes
- If you opened the dishwasher the plint underneath felt down
- no amenities
- hardly any towels
- The large balcony was not accessibly. Very slippery and no furniture.
- Most of the bulbs were not working

But what I found most unacceptable was the state of the mattresses. 2 very thin mattresses with no protector on them. The bedroom smelled like "human" juices. Same for the pillows.
I bought the protectors myself.If they get an inspection they will get fined big time, or even have to close until they have followed the regulations.

The entrance and staircases looks like they are under renovations, perhaps they have finished by now.

On check out I have discussed all the above items with one of their staff. He was very apologetic and appreciated the feed back. He called the manager and told me they were going to refund 1 night and look into all the problems we mentioned.

Needless to say, we never got the refund. I hope they used the 155.00 Euros to buy mattress covers......!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Hi all

Well it's the fifth time I have visit Amsterdam , I already got use to the fact that if you want to stay close to the old city in a nice place you need to pay and a lot ! well this place is not cheap but worth every Euro .

I have met with few friends in Amsterdam and we all stayed in different hotels .. we all paid almost the same but mine was the best choice ! not only you get lots of space in your room but a new apartment , with everything you need , with class ...

beautiful kitchen , bath , and very very comfortable BIG bed, and just 7 min walk from Dam square !

Room Tip: just book it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canal Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Boutique Apartments

Address: Keizersgracht 304, 1016 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Boutique Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Canal Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canal Boutique Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.