We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aran Irish Pub

Aran Irish Pub
Max Euweplein 73 | 1017 MA, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 622 0416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,277 of 2,314 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

If you are looking for a "local" vibe, this probably isn't the place for you. it was average as far as pubs go, but we found the prices very expensive. Even more expensive than the Hard Rock cafe next door!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    53
    26
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“English visitors and football”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Even though you are on vacation you cannot get away from the football if you are an Englishman/woman. The Aran has adequate coverage of the Premier League and other games on large TV screens. If you dont like watching that then the canal and bridge next to the pub with outside seating is an easier and quieter option.'An Irish breakfast at lunchtime is recommended and the place is ideal for a meeting point and feeding trough before expediting your exploration of this magnificent city.
A well run and organised pub, relaxed and buzzy at the same time. Again, it is what it is. use it as a base if your hotel is in the Leidseplein area.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad Service, Expensive - Finally, food was good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Went in on New Year's Eve and sat at the bar. It wasn't very crowded but I had to wait 10 minutes before the waitress acknowledged us. I asked the waitress if they had Corned Beef and Cabbage and she said "what?". I asked again if they had corned beef and cabbage and she replied "Order off of the menu, stupid". I was in shock. Then my girlfriend ordered for me in Dutch but she ordered the wrong item. We immediately (less than 30 seconds) told the waitress about the mistake and we were told that we had already ordered and there was nothing she could do about it. I said no problem but I wasn't paying for food that I didn't want. She got very angry and called a co-worker to talk to me at which point I explained the situation and he said he would take care of it. I finally did get the right food after a 45 minute wait. The food was good but each entrée was a minimum of 13 euros. Too many idiots working in this place and zero customer service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not at all Irish???!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited here after having a meal in the nearby Wagamama and we were very disappointed with the place. Inside there was very little theme of anything being Irish, there was an English league football match playing on TV as we entered and the place was more like a bog standard London bar. We ordered some drinks and took a seat by the window, the view was quite good to the canal and it was nicely lit up at night. The match ended about 10 minutes after we were in the pub and we were hoping for perhaps some Irish themed music, instead we got some rock and regular radio music instead. We only stayed for one drink. If this pub did not advertise itself as an Irish pub it would pass as a simple quick stop in but if you're looking for a themed bar this is not it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good but expensive!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

6 euro for a pint of Guinness, that's a lot! They have great staff and the food looked good. Fantastic location with an outdoor chess board just outside. They put up the Christmas lights on Friday too and they were all chess oriented which is a lovely touch. Got a free drink on the back of being a repeat customer but for a night out there are cheaper places with better atmospheres.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aran Irish Pub also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Aran Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aran Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.