We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lekker! Would definitely come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buuf

Buuf
Overtoom 495, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #979 of 2,508 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lekker! Would definitely come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I don't usually do restaurant reviews but I have to make an exception for this place. It belies the Dutch tradition of boring food. A funky cafe complete with menus on TV screens a la MS-DOS/Space Invaders. Order at the counter and pick it up yourself when ready - keeps prices here down (and it is very reasonable). Strongly suggest the fish soup - I have had bouillabaisse that costs twice as much and tastes half as good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious, excellent price quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Delicious burgers and sandwiches for lunch, limited evening menu but for less than 9 euros 6 choices that change every few days.... We will be back more often!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a fabulous meal. Fresh food and very friendly staff! Not at all annoyed by our lack of Dutch. We brought our kids along and they enjoyed the meal as well. Great prices!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“This place has it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This isn't a place I would have selected as my partner is very picky when it comes to his diet but a friend who lives in Amsterdam took us here. I prefer to eat local cuisine but he only eats what he knows. The menu was amazing & suited us both. It took me a while to contemplate the choice.
I've got a real taste for truffle oil now!
I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food - Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We revisited this restaurant a second time before leaving town. The self-serve concept is very neat and the food is exceptionally good, considering we had different cooks each night. The staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient. The cost is reasonable considering the quality of the food. Not the best suited for family dining, however, can’t lose for adults looking for a great meal at affordable prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buuf also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Buuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buuf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.