We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place with a good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thijs Restaurant

Thijs Restaurant
Prinsengracht 438, 1017 KE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 625 0150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 2,469 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
Cuisines: French, Organic, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations
Description: THIJS offers you a French-Mediterranean kitchen, with a few international flourishes, and prefers to work with seasonal products, pure and honest ingredients, The crew is highly qualified when it comes to pampering you. THIJS has style and standing an at the same time a unique modern atmosphere. On the first floor we have a hotel lounge and The Private Dining Room for lunch or diner, with a beautiful canal view. This room can also be hired for meetings or presentations.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming place with a good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went for a business dinner there, place is not huge, but the interior is very nice. We had an agreed menu for our group, and the service was very helpful when I could not eat the seafood soup because of allergy. Fish was amazing; brownie at the end was so full of chocolate that I could not finish. All in all, it was very satisfying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This charming black and white restaurant is in the hotel where we stayed (Dikker). We had a fairly exhausting day and so did not feel much like going even a block or 2 from the hotel, so we decided to "eat in". What a wonderful surprise. This restaurant was great. We had the 3 course meals and all of us were very happy with our selections. The service was friendly, attentive and sympathetic. I say sympathetic because there was a large group (about 30) of older people having dinner and they would not allow a bit of fresh air to be let into the restaurant. However the staff worked it out. Also the service was excellent in spite of having this large group to serve.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusignan, France
1 review
“Excellent dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A pleasant dinner with a warm welcome and attentive service. The soft crab starter was delicious, beef for main course tasty, but a little dry. Desserts were delicious. Wine was a reasonable price and staff were friendly. We would revisit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Quality food and a quiet environment, at least in the morning. Be sure to try the scrambled eggs, and the various spreadable cheeses.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a brilliant Evening”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We thought that the service was under manned so that we had to
negotiate each encounter. The welcome wasn't warm or attentive which didn't set the scene for an enjoyable evening. We had to ask for nibbles to go with our rather measly glassof champagne and the rest of the meal was comic in it's hastily constructed ingredients - hot soft-shelled crab and cold crab pate followed by lamb and bits
Altogether a rather second class experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thijs Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thijs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thijs Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.