We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Japanese food, reasonable prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ichi-E

Ichi-E
Arena Boulevard 175, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,484 of 2,553 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
463 reviews 463 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Reasonable Japanese food, reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This restaurant is a nice option to go before going to the movies in Amsterdam Arena area.

It is located just in front of the set of cinema rooms and it has this option of food in a system of rolling balcony. So it is fast for sushi, sashimi or other row Japanese food.

However, fro anything cooked it takes sometime, especially to get attention from the waiters. Once they have seen you and take orders, then it didn't take too long.

Food has reasonably quality and prices are also reasonable. The place is modern, simple, but nicely decorated and cosy. Like any other restaurants in the Netherlands, they have an outdoor sitting that is open few months during the year because of the weather.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    33
    11
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

ichi-e restaurant is a Sushi restaurant. The ambience is great with fairy lights that change color, very upscale feel. It is located also at a very convenient location. Right next to the Arena station. I went there for dinner. The food undoubtedly was great. I tried the prawn tempura roll and a small side of fried rice (Yake Meshi). Absolutely loved the food. The presentation was also beautiful. But the service was horrible. It took them 15 minutes to give me a menu, another 15 to get me a coke and another 30 minutes to get the food. The restaurant was not even full to justify the delay. The servers just stood in a corner either talking to the manager talking to the kitchen staff or chatting amongst themselves. If ther service was good, I would have rated it excellent. The food is excellent. for the 3 items I ordered, the bill was about 18 Euros

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Look elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Average food, UN-reasonable prices. Probably the first "Japanese" restaurant I've been to where ramen/soba is not served after 4 p.m. Talk about ridiculous. This is of course their ruse to get you to order the more expensive stuff for dinner. Sidenote: None of the chefs are Japanese. Only in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbee69
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been here about a dozen times. Even though you dont really expect a great restaurant in this surrounding, it is some of the best Japanese food you will find. It is not the Okura, but then again the prices aren't either. This is definitely my favorite for Japanese and more people should try this rather than the eat as much as you can rubbish places that pop up everywhere.

Convenient access by car, train or tram and great to combine with a movie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Modern and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I thoughly enjoyed my visit here. We had a mixture of dishes including sashimi, noodle salad, yaki asparagus, steam soya beans, dumplings. I enjoyed all of them, although don't expect the highest quality. However, next time I will arrange for the food to arive in at least two waves: all of it arriving at once wasn't a good idea.

Service was good, in particular we were travelling with two suitcases which where put into the garedrobe for us. Price was also reasonable at 55 Euro for two including drinks. It is located near the Amsterdam arena, which is quite a lively modern area. But you may want to avoid it when there is a major event on at one fo the nearby venues.

One negative point, the shoudl change their wasabi. It was far too mild.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichi-E also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ichi-E? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichi-E, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.