We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but terrible service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ichi-E

Ichi-E
Arena Boulevard 175, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,304 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

ichi-e restaurant is a Sushi restaurant. The ambience is great with fairy lights that change color, very upscale feel. It is located also at a very convenient location. Right next to the Arena station. I went there for dinner. The food undoubtedly was great. I tried the prawn tempura roll and a small side of fried rice (Yake Meshi). Absolutely loved the food. The presentation was also beautiful. But the service was horrible. It took them 15 minutes to give me a menu, another 15 to get me a coke and another 30 minutes to get the food. The restaurant was not even full to justify the delay. The servers just stood in a corner either talking to the manager talking to the kitchen staff or chatting amongst themselves. If ther service was good, I would have rated it excellent. The food is excellent. for the 3 items I ordered, the bill was about 18 Euros

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    36
    13
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Look elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Average food, UN-reasonable prices. Probably the first "Japanese" restaurant I've been to where ramen/soba is not served after 4 p.m. Talk about ridiculous. This is of course their ruse to get you to order the more expensive stuff for dinner. Sidenote: None of the chefs are Japanese. Only in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arbee69
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been here about a dozen times. Even though you dont really expect a great restaurant in this surrounding, it is some of the best Japanese food you will find. It is not the Okura, but then again the prices aren't either. This is definitely my favorite for Japanese and more people should try this rather than the eat as much as you can rubbish places that pop up everywhere.

Convenient access by car, train or tram and great to combine with a movie.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Modern and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I thoughly enjoyed my visit here. We had a mixture of dishes including sashimi, noodle salad, yaki asparagus, steam soya beans, dumplings. I enjoyed all of them, although don't expect the highest quality. However, next time I will arrange for the food to arive in at least two waves: all of it arriving at once wasn't a good idea.

Service was good, in particular we were travelling with two suitcases which where put into the garedrobe for us. Price was also reasonable at 55 Euro for two including drinks. It is located near the Amsterdam arena, which is quite a lively modern area. But you may want to avoid it when there is a major event on at one fo the nearby venues.

One negative point, the shoudl change their wasabi. It was far too mild.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Reasonable Japanese-style food, but owful service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We come here time to time, sometimes for lunch, sometimes before or after the movie.
The food is always high standard, if one considers that the standard is nowdays set by modern Japanese-style chains. Nothing to complain about. So is Asachi.
The ambience is... noisy. Which is typical for Amsterdam. Shouting to your partner is a norm here, unless you go really off-the-hour or go expensive.
But the service... In most cases the place is just normal for Amsterdam: faceless, interest-less, typically provided by reasonably trained and accurate, but temporary staff.
Last time it was really something. For some 10 times a waiter was at our table, there was no single time it was the same one. And each time we needed to waive if not to shout to call for an attention. We waited more than half an hour for the main (tempura shrimps) and then another 15 minutes for the bill.
Never again? Not so sure. It is very well located, the food is good, prices are reasonable, and in mid-range restaurants in this country we are not spoiled with good service. Just hope next time it is a bit better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichi-E also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ichi-E? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichi-E, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.