We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Since1634

Save Saved
You added Since1634 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Since1634
Hazenstraat 35, 1016 SN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013



We stayed at the 1634 in Amsterdam and had a great experience! There is only one guest room, which was more like a suite. There was so much room to move around in. The room is on the second level and up some winding stairs, but not a problem, as Peter the owner, took our luggage up to our room.

The location is great, a short walking distance from the Anna Frank house and the canals.

Peter is a wonderful host. He told us many interesting facts on the city. He also was very helpful with getting a reservation for dinner.

We only wish we could have been there for a longer stay. We only had the night of Oct. 5 to stay, as we were leaving on a Viking riverboat trip the following evening.

Breakfast was amazing and delivered to our room. I told Peter that he made the best coffee I had while in Belgium and Amsterdam!!

Do not pass up this little gem in Amsterdam!

Thank you, Peter for your kind hospitality!

Patty and Paul Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
dover, nh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The room was quirky with a lot of books and knicknacks, but the bed was very comfortable and i had a good night's sleep. The host, Peter, was very friendly and prepared a nice breakfast of ham cheese, a boiled egg, warm bread rolls and coffee--all delivered to the room. The location was great, less than a half mile to Leidesplein and the museums, about a mile to the centraal station.
I have no hesitation in recommending this place, and it was very reasonably priced also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Friendly, thoughtful host Peter made my stay special. I learned something of life in the area from Peter and felt privileged to stay in Since 1634. The room was clean and comfortable with interesting things around. Great to have fridge, microwave & kettle in the room. Breakfast was served in the room which was great because I could look down on activity in the street below while eating. Flexible and good arrangements for arrival and departure. I was able to leave my bags and pick them up later on the way to the airport. Bonus that the airport bus leaves from near bye bus station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrtalje, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Nice e-mail communication, smooth payment via Pay Pal and flexible arrival. Very good location in Joordan within walking distance to downtown and attractions. Peter was a very friendly host who showed us the surroundings and gave tips on restaurants, pub and communication. The stairs to the room was steep and narrow but Peter helped us with the bags up to the room.
There were microwave and water boiler in the room, but it would have been nice if there were also tea bags and instant coffee .The bed was comfortable but had only one blanket ,but next time we will ask for an extra blanket ;-)
Breakfast served in our room. Unfortunately there was only one cup of coffee per person on the tray, but it wasn´t problem to get one more cup when we asked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Since1634? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Since1634

Address: Hazenstraat 35, 1016 SN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Since1634 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Since1634, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.