We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The street was relatively quiet, and the bed was comfortable, so we slept soundly for many hours, even though it was on the ground floor. The room was spacious and comfortable. The wifi was strong.

Although we didn't eat at the hotel restaurant for breakfast, there are several decent restaurants just a block or two away. Walking about 15 minutes away will get you to the museum quarter. Convenient location, great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are more than happy to welcome you back when visiting Amsterdam again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    241
    88
    21
    23
See reviews for
61
350
24
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here on our first stay in Amsterdam. We arrived tired, before check-in. The man at the front desk, Yosin, couldn't have been nicer. He tried to speed up the cleaning of our room, got us coffee, and allowed us to choose which room we wanted when the cleaning was finished. We had booked a large penthouse suite with private terrace & it was lovely. The hotel is well situated to museums and parks. We loved the neighborhood. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a penthouse suite with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. I have forwarded your compliment to the staff and he was really happy to hear. We would love to welcome you back when visiting Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Its our honeymoon end up little unhappy. we travel with friends, we end up indifferent buildings. There are many many small fly in our room, they wont swap a room as they were full. we suffer for 4days 3 nights

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am really sorry that we could not exceed your expectations. It's not usual that there are flies in the rooms, and it shouldn't. I would like to ask you if you could contact us by email. This way you can tell us what happened during your stay.
Looking forward hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

If you're expecting the Four Seasons experience, this hotel is not for you. But if you're traveling on a budget but still want a nice, clean hotel in a good location, this meets the mark.

The hotel is walking distance (10 minutes) to the Leidsplein area, with lots of shops and restaurants. While touristy and busy, Leidsplein wasn't as crazy as Dam Square and the Red Light District. It's also walking distance to the museums. The hotel was just enough off the beaten path to provide a quiet night's sleep while still feeling like you were experiencing Amsterdam. The nearby tram can get you all over the city.

The room certainly felt small by American standards (see photo), but I've never been to Amsterdam, so I can't compare it to other hotels. It was clean and looked like it had recently been updated. At 92 euros a night in late July and early August, it felt like a bargain.

The hotel only occupies the ground floor and sixth floor of the building, and unless you're in a suite, you'll be on the ground floor. Our room faced a quiet street with trees and a canal, so this wasn't a problem.

Two things to be aware of: 1.) the wifi in the room was very spotty and the signal was so weak it was virtually unusable. 2.) they are very strict about their 11:00 checkout policy. I overheard another guest being charged 45 euros (half the price of what we paid for the room!) for overstaying by an hour (he claimed he didn't realize checkout was at 11:00). This seemed steep, but granted I didn't know the whole story.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I would like to inform you that we have updated the Wi-Fi signal, so it should be faster in every room from now on. Because we are a small hotel, we have to take the 11:00 check-out really serious. We offer a late check out as well until 14:00 for €45.00. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, let's start with the good points. We were in a classic room on the ground floor. The room was spotlessly clean and had a little fridge and not as small as I thought they would be. Beds were lovely and comfortable and had a real good sleep. Super fast free wifi. Staff were friendly and very helpful and a great asset to the hotel. About a 30 minute walk to dam square but beware if the cyclists don't get you the scooters or cars will.

Now the not so good points- let's start with the air conditioning, well it can't be turned off. You can vary the temperature plus/minus 3 degrees however bloody thing blows all night. Now Amsterdam is one of the most sexy cities in the world, what kind of room did they stick Mrs Thompa and I in? Yep a twin room!! No need for contraception here... The small single beds were contraception enough!! I fell off the bed on to the floor so many times I gave up trying. No room service, no bar, no restaurant for an evening meal and no iron or ironing board in the room. I may not be the most intelligent of people but I thought a star rating was awarded on the amenities provided by the hotel... Very few amenities here so in my opinion not a 4 star hotel.

Overall not a bad hotel overall with great staff but not 4 star. Now mr or mrs general manager... I did mention this to the staff but hotel busy and no double beds. Recommended by staff to go for penthouse rooms next time. If I was to pay the money for a penthouse room if be booking to stay in another hotel with better facilities thanks very much. Sad really because the staff try so hard.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for you detailled review and feedback. It helps us to keep improving our service. All your comments are taken into account. We are working on the roomservice as we speak, and designing a menu with different kinds of meals. We are planning to launch the roomservice as soon as possible.
As you also may have noticed, our hotel is not designed with a restaurant or bar. Therefor we are not able to offer you this services. However, our staff is more then welcome to provide all information about nice places in the area and you can also order minibar. The iron and iron board are upon reuqest. This is written in the guest directory.
I am sorry to here that the bed was to small. Like the staff that was working during the stay, I would also likt to recommend a penthouse. You can also add a note to your reservation that you prefer a double bed. We can't guarantee a 100%, but we will always do our very best to assign you the room that you prefer.
The airco is a centrally regulated system. We have this kind of system because it provides fresh air in the room. But we will definitely check this an short notice if we can do something about the sound,
We would love to welcome you back, and perhaps you would like to book a penthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nice hotel, convenient location. Some suggestions for saving a few Euros. Buy your water at the supermarket on Overtoom -5 minutes walk away. You can buy 6 bottles of water at the supermarket for the same price as 1 bottle of water at the hotel. Hotel has bike rentals, but you can find lower cost bike rentals on Overtoom road 7 minutes walk away at a lower cost with more selection of different bikes. The hotel offers breakfast - I think a bit pricey but look ok - did not try it. However many cafés and restaurants nearby at lower cost with more selection. However, pleased with the staff, location, quiet neighbourhood, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. The bottles of water in the minibar are complimentary for the first night and we changed the bike rental from 12 to 24 hours for the same price. Looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I enjoyed my stay here, the room was nice and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast is a bit steep at €15 per person but it might be amazing, I didn't try it. Not too far from some of the sites such as Vondelpark and the Rijksmuseum.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great to know you have liked your stay with us. We have a special offer for the breakfast. If you book it upon arrival it costs only €12.50 per person per breakfast instead of €15.50. It is an open buffet with a variety of bread, pastry, cheese, meat, fruit, fish and yoghurts. Looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#88 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Hotel Arena
#75 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#69 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#58 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#151 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.