We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend and we were very impressed with the quality of the hotel room. We were greeted very pleasantly at the reception and check in was smooth. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and let me borrow an adapter too! The room was chic and stylish and the view from the balcony was lovely. Breakfast is good too. Location is slightly out from the centre however it's within easy walking distance and also trams are everywhere to jump on so no issues with this. The staff also made a birthday cake for my husband as it was his birthday whilst we were there. It was delicious and very much appreciated, thank you. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice words. We are really happy to hear that we could help you with the birthday cake and you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Looking forward te welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    138
    56
    14
    18
See reviews for
41
192
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice hotel in a really good location a short walk away from the centre which means you are away from the crowd and noise, yet just a 10-15 min walk away. The area generally felt safe to walk around even late at night. There are quite a few bars, cafes and restaurants around.


We arrived around 11:00 in the morning, way earlier than the checkout time, and left our bags behind.. The staff are reception speak very good English and are very friendly and helpful. Reception also provide a map of Amsterdam with the highlights and the receptionist who checked us in drew walking routes to the nearest tram and bus stops.

We booked a Deluxe Double room which was on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard. The room itself had a very modern feel and was decorated well. The En-suite bathroom was very clean with essential toiletries provided as complimentary. There is TV, and a mini fridge in the room with two complimentary bottles of water.

There is plenty of storage / closet space and an electronic number lock safe is provided too to store valuables.


The Bed was comfortable, but a bit disappointed as two single mattresses were joined together, and you could feel the seams if you rolled on to the middle. The room had a pretty silent aircon with its own control.

The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice which included cereal, salads, cheeses, juices tea-coffee, fruit yogurt, continental patisserie, toast, boiled eggs, and fried or scrambled eggs,


Wi-Fi is complementary and the speed and cover is pretty good from my experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for this detailed review. We really appreciate this as it helps us to keep improving our service. Good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will take your feedback about the matress into account. Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you will visit Amsterdam in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Lovely little hotel in a really good location. some nice bars around. Quiet area which felt safe to walk around in. Not many facilities in the hotel itself. Rooms were modern, clean and had everything in them that you needed. Beds very comfy. Walls a little thin though! But the hotel itself had a general quiet feel to it. (Maybe we just had an exceptionally loud couple next to us!) Staff very nice & helpful. I would go back there again & think it is good value for money. Ate breakfast one day, good food and convenient but not cheap. There is a really nice cafe down the road called Dimitri's that do a really good breakfast at a good price, we ate there the rest of the time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you will return to our hotel. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Yes, the room was a little small and certainly expensive, but it is typical European travel. Most importantly, the room was clean. It had a fresh feel about it and was roomy enough for a brief stay. The staff was friendly. Its location is fairly convenient with access to local shops and sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. This is really appreciated. Good to hear you enjoyed the room. I would like to advise you to book a penthouse next time. These rooms are larger and situated on the sixth floor with a private terrace.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed 1 night and we were welcomed by very friendly staff. The standard double room was contemporary and spotlessly clean with a comfy bed. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and for the £46 per night we paid it was perfect.

The location is a bit of a walk from the main bars and restaurants but you can hop on a tram 1-2 stops. Ideal for museums and beautiful park.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. This is really appreciated as it helps us to keep improving our service. Please come and visit our hotel again when you will return to Amsterdam, we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was just outside the "main" area - about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main shopping district. We found the hotel with no problems but I had read some previous reviews that it was difficult to find. It was not difficult if you have any sense of sight and direction (although the street names are a little challenge). The check in process was easy; however, the first time navigating to our room was like a maze (but with no turns). Our room ended up being great (Junior Suite on bottom floor). It had 2 of the most comfortable beds/pillows, 2 little couches, big TV, storage space/closet, in room safe and a great bathroom (heated floors). We did not pay for the breakfast in the hotel but it looked good. Instead, we opted to eat at some of the little local cafes all around the hotel. We also found some great neighborhood bars in the evening. I would recommend this hotel because it was very clean, nice staff (provided a map of Amsterdam with interesting sights) and it was extremely quiet. Once we were in our room, we never heard any other hotel guests. Because it was not in the main "tourist" area, people we met were very friendly and helpful (i.e., if they saw you standing looking at a map they would offer to help you locate where you wanted to go).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! That makes us really happy. Thank you for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I selected this hotel because it is located just outside the city center (thus avoiding night noises from the bars and discotheques) . The Leidseplein is a 5-10 mins walks or easy to reach by tram)

Reception: professional , friendly and quick

Rooms: clean , noiseless airco,

Bathroom: clean and towels

Minibar: only two bottles of water

Disappointments:
hotel has a parking , but using it is a fuzz

Breakfast: is disappointing for this class of hotels

Would I use it again: probable not

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to reduce noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing this review and feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you won't be using our hotel probably. We really hoped that we could exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the parking is taken into account and we will discuss this with our contact person of the parking. The parking belongs to the City of Amsterdam.
Togheter with our breakfast employees and manager we are brainstorming what we could improve so your feedback was really helpfull. Despite the fact that you won't be returning back to the hotel we would still love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.