We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical But Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Typical But Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Yes, the room was a little small and certainly expensive, but it is typical European travel. Most importantly, the room was clean. It had a fresh feel about it and was roomy enough for a brief stay. The staff was friendly. Its location is fairly convenient with access to local shops and sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. This is really appreciated. Good to hear you enjoyed the room. I would like to advise you to book a penthouse next time. These rooms are larger and situated on the sixth floor with a private terrace.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    113
    43
    11
    14
See reviews for
31
150
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed 1 night and we were welcomed by very friendly staff. The standard double room was contemporary and spotlessly clean with a comfy bed. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and for the £46 per night we paid it was perfect.

The location is a bit of a walk from the main bars and restaurants but you can hop on a tram 1-2 stops. Ideal for museums and beautiful park.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. This is really appreciated as it helps us to keep improving our service. Please come and visit our hotel again when you will return to Amsterdam, we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with the hotel. It was just outside the "main" area - about a 5 to 10 minute walk to the main shopping district. We found the hotel with no problems but I had read some previous reviews that it was difficult to find. It was not difficult if you have any sense of sight and direction (although the street names are a little challenge). The check in process was easy; however, the first time navigating to our room was like a maze (but with no turns). Our room ended up being great (Junior Suite on bottom floor). It had 2 of the most comfortable beds/pillows, 2 little couches, big TV, storage space/closet, in room safe and a great bathroom (heated floors). We did not pay for the breakfast in the hotel but it looked good. Instead, we opted to eat at some of the little local cafes all around the hotel. We also found some great neighborhood bars in the evening. I would recommend this hotel because it was very clean, nice staff (provided a map of Amsterdam with interesting sights) and it was extremely quiet. Once we were in our room, we never heard any other hotel guests. Because it was not in the main "tourist" area, people we met were very friendly and helpful (i.e., if they saw you standing looking at a map they would offer to help you locate where you wanted to go).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! That makes us really happy. Thank you for your recommendation. We are looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I selected this hotel because it is located just outside the city center (thus avoiding night noises from the bars and discotheques) . The Leidseplein is a 5-10 mins walks or easy to reach by tram)

Reception: professional , friendly and quick

Rooms: clean , noiseless airco,

Bathroom: clean and towels

Minibar: only two bottles of water

Disappointments:
hotel has a parking , but using it is a fuzz

Breakfast: is disappointing for this class of hotels

Would I use it again: probable not

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors to reduce noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for writing this review and feedback. I am really sorry to hear that you won't be using our hotel probably. We really hoped that we could exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the parking is taken into account and we will discuss this with our contact person of the parking. The parking belongs to the City of Amsterdam.
Togheter with our breakfast employees and manager we are brainstorming what we could improve so your feedback was really helpfull. Despite the fact that you won't be returning back to the hotel we would still love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

A modern and clean hotel in a quiet part of the city. Still close enough to the main areas via tram number 1 (a few minutes walk away). You could also walk into the city within twenty minutes.

Small compact rooms with everything that you need (good quality internet and facilities) and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Modern bathroom which was very clean, but the shower cubicle was not that well designed and the water pressure was average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review. This is really appreciated. Our maintenance department checked all the rooms for the water pressure and increased the pressure if necessary. Because of your feedback we could fix it!
Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Really good hotel, friendly staff and great rooms. Little way from the centre, but easy to get to to by tram. Staff was really helpful and friendly, would definitely stay in this hotel again. Room was big and very clean and facing away from the street - nice breakfast shops down the street

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you very much for writing this review. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would stay here again. We would love to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Excellent stay. Had a slight issue work the room at first bit was addressed very quickly and efficiently. Staff are friendly, room is modern and clean. Also only a 5 minute walk to the number 1 an 17 tram. 5/5

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for writing this review. We are really pleased to read you had an excellent stay. That makes us really happy. We would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.