We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, really comfy bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, really comfy bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were really pleased when we arrived. Our room was lovely, the bathroom was very modern with a large shower and heated floor and the bed was so comfortable! Rooms are pretty close together and we did occasionally hear people in the rooms either side of us. On the first night we were woken up at 5am by people checking into the room next door (one of them was shouting). We called reception who were apologetic and they must have told them to be quiet as we didn't hear anything else after that! Amsterdam is so compact that you're never very far from anywhere and we really liked the hotel's location. It's on a very trendy street with loads of bars, shops and eating places and in our opinion this is much better than staying right in the centre. There are tram stops on the street if you don't want to walk but we enjoyed wandering everywhere and discovering new places along the way! The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful and we'll definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for writing a review. We really appreciate this as it helps us to keep improving our service. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and you will be coming back in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    113
    43
    11
    14
See reviews for
31
150
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here with my friend for 3 nights. Our penthouse hotel room was a nice size, clean and had a great terrace outside! The staff were friendly and even brought us a bottle of bubbly to celebrate my friends birthday which we really appreciated!!
If I could give one but of criticism it would be the length of the hair dryer wire was so short so I would suggest taking your own!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your review and your nice words. Great to hear you loved your penthouse and had a nice birthday. Your feedback about the hairdryer is taken into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Not the cheapest, but good quality. Seems like all rooms are on the first floor. Our window opened up to a wide alley which allowed you to see a canal. Close to trams, but a little further walk to Leidseplein. Got there early (10 am) and they found us a room. Bathroom in room has heated floors. Water seemed to prefer to be very hot in shower, when only warm, not much strength.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. Besides rooms on the ground floor we also have penthouses on the sixth floor. These rooms have a terrace and an amazing view over Amsterdam.
Your feedback about the shower is communicated to the maintenace department and they will check all the bathrooms. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights after booking on Orbitz. We paid about 72 euros a night. The hotel is very nice, especially for what we paid. Like the name implies, the hotel is downtown near many of the restaurants and bars. From what I've experienced in Europe, the rooms here were rather large. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for you nice comments. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night, which was superb value paying only £35 for a double room - cheaper than any hotel in the UK! The location is good, the nearest tram stop is around the corner from the hotel and from there it takes about 5-10 minutes to reach the very centre of the city. Initial impressions were good, we arrived early at 11am to leave our luggage with reception, not expecting to be able to check in that early and were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready. The double room is very small, however has lots of facilities and is clean. The en-suite bathroom was perfectly adequate, although it was one of those annoying 'wet rooms' meaning that every time you use the shower, the whole bathroom floor gets wet. The walls in the bedrooms are very thin - in the middle of the night I was woken up by voices from the next door bedroom, which lasted about half an hour. I called the reception staff who asked them to be quiet, however it was a while before the voices stopped and I was able to get back to sleep. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall it was an excellent value hotel considering the price paid, however under no circumstances would I pay full price for a room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback. Good to hear that you had a good stay overall and our reception was friendly and helpfull. I passed on these compliments and they were very happy.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

room was good but a little squeezy. bed is very comfortable.
receptionist seems friendly and helpful but make a face behind us which i accidentally saw when i was about to ask her something then changed my mind later.
location is not bad although its quite far from city unless u take bus or tram.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. This isreally appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that the receptionist made a face. I discussed this with the entire team that this is really important that we have to pay attention to this. All our staff members don't have the intention to make fun of our guests and are proffesional. We would love to welcome you back when you return to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.