We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

room was good but a little squeezy. bed is very comfortable.
receptionist seems friendly and helpful but make a face behind us which i accidentally saw when i was about to ask her something then changed my mind later.
location is not bad although its quite far from city unless u take bus or tram.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. This isreally appreciated.
I am sorry to hear that the receptionist made a face. I discussed this with the entire team that this is really important that we have to pay attention to this. All our staff members don't have the intention to make fun of our guests and are proffesional. We would love to welcome you back when you return to Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    193
    62
    18
    21
See reviews for
52
275
16
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Would recommend this hotel. Friendly staff at front desk. Room was very clean and comfortable to stay in. Wi-Fi worked well. We preferred to walk and the museums and Vondel Park are walking distance.
Only suggestion for hotel would be to have soap bar in bathroom. They did have liquid shampoo/ conditioner but were missing basic amenity. I would have given a 5 star rating, if basic amenities were provided.

Room Tip: If you need early check-in, make sure to request it before you check-in, as we did have to wait an 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We really appreciate this. I forwarded your nice words to the entire team and you made their day.
The amenities that are offered are in the junior suites and penthouses. If you upgrade the room we provide you new amenities every day. We will take this comment into account and discuss if we can also place the amenities in the other rooms.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A brilliant place to stay. Near train / tram stations, friendly front desk staff and the willingness attitude to help.
We stayed for 2 nights.
5 star for this place overall.
Definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. I forwarded your compliments of the front desk to the entire team and they were very happy. Great to hear that you will be back in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for one night and have no grumbles at all,Great room,Great bathroom,Nice and quiet at night and we got it at a great price.

Would definitely stay again,Just a 5min tram ride (#17) into the City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you will return in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.