We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service - clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Los Altos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service - clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Would recommend this hotel. Friendly staff at front desk. Room was very clean and comfortable to stay in. Wi-Fi worked well. We preferred to walk and the museums and Vondel Park are walking distance.
Only suggestion for hotel would be to have soap bar in bathroom. They did have liquid shampoo/ conditioner but were missing basic amenity. I would have given a 5 star rating, if basic amenities were provided.

Room Tip: If you need early check-in, make sure to request it before you check-in, as we did have to wait an 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We really appreciate this. I forwarded your nice words to the entire team and you made their day.
The amenities that are offered are in the junior suites and penthouses. If you upgrade the room we provide you new amenities every day. We will take this comment into account and discuss if we can also place the amenities in the other rooms.
We would love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    113
    43
    11
    14
See reviews for
31
150
8
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A brilliant place to stay. Near train / tram stations, friendly front desk staff and the willingness attitude to help.
We stayed for 2 nights.
5 star for this place overall.
Definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review. I forwarded your compliments of the front desk to the entire team and they were very happy. Great to hear that you will be back in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Me and a friend stayed here for one night and have no grumbles at all,Great room,Great bathroom,Nice and quiet at night and we got it at a great price.

Would definitely stay again,Just a 5min tram ride (#17) into the City Centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you will return in the future. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
330 reviews 330 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a romantic break with my partner and stayed at grand hotel downtown as we got a fantastic deal on booking.com secret deals for 60 euro per night for 2 people in a small double room. For that price, I could not complain about anything. But if you are paying full price, which is over 100 euro per night, here are the things that might bother you.
- a bit difficult to find as it is sharing the space with other hotels and what I think is also an apartment building.
-our room did not have a window and was small - but if you don't intend on spending a long time in your room, the size is not an inconvenient, the lack of window is.
-no toiletries, just shower gel in a squeezy tube in the shower.
- the room was incredibly hot all night, tried to adjust the temperature without success. Upon check out, the receptionist asked me if everything went well and when I told her, her reply was 'did you call someone? well if you didn't then we cannot help you.' I was not even going to mention it so I thought it was just bad customer service (and we had a bad night sleep.)
- small and uncomfortable pillows.

Otherwise , there all some good things to mention. free good wifi in rooms, good bed, clean room, tea/coffee facilities, big tv, powerful hot showers ,nice building and nice evening receptionist.
I don't think I will be back and I could recommend it only for the rate we got.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for writing a review. Your feedback is always welcome. It is correct that the building has several facilities. It accomodates 3 hotels, restaurant, etc. It is an unique concept which makes this hotel different then others. You have booked a small double room that is indeed our smallest room. I would like to advise you to book a standard room or junior suite.
It is correct that we don't have windows in the rooms on the ground floor. We have a climate control system which gives you fresh and clean air during your stay. If you prefer a window you could always book a penthouse which is situated on the sixth floor and has its own private balcony.
In all our rooms we provide a dispenser with shampoo/conditioner. If you book a junior suite we provide extra amenities. If you prefer amenities please just contact our front desk and they will provide this. We will take your feedback into account to place the amenities in all rooms.
I am sorry to hear that you experienced a bad customer service. Offcourse we should help you at all times. I spoke to the front desk staff and discussed this with them and they are aware of the situation. We also checked the heating in your room and we fixed it straight away.
I am happy to hear that you also liked your stay. I am really sorry to hear that you would not recommend this hotel. I can assure you that our rates are in ratio with our quality for a 4 star hotel. I would recommend to book a standard room or maybe you prefer an upgrade to a penthouse. Even though your experience, we would love to welcome you back in the future and don't hesitate to contact me to book a suite or penthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Although the hotel is perhaps targeted towards a business traveller, it also caters extremely well for a romantic stay in Amsterdam. The small double room was spotlessly clean and extremely well decorated with a very comfortable bed and excellent shower with underfloor heating in the bathroom. The staff were very helpful and accommodating and the transport links were very convenient. If you are looking for somewhere comfortable to stay, slightly out of the hustle and bustle of the the city centre, but close enough to explore Amsterdam then I would recommend the Grand Hotel Downtown Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. This is really appreciated. How lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that is was so romantic. Looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.