We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely stunning hotel!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    199
    67
    19
    21
See reviews for
55
284
17
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed one night here on a business trip. I wish I'd spent more time in the hotel but unfortunately work got in the way (darn work ha ha), Hotel is lovely! Rooms are welcoming and bathroom is clean and simply decorated. I loved the dark chocolate decor. The TV was a bit hard to find at first - it took me a while to realise that the mirrored wall in front of me doubled up as a Philips TV! I discovered it as I was holding the remote looking around whilst thinking "what kind of a hotel doesn't have a TV?!". The bed was SUPER comfy - four bouncy pillows - I'm definitely investing in those for my bedroom! There were bathrobes in the bathroom but I didn't use it - no time!. There are tea/coffee making facilities as well as a safe in the wardrobe. A desk and a chair should you need to work, lots of lighting in the room and black out curtains. I was on the ground floor in room 104 - despite this being very close to reception there was no noise to be heard. Perfect. Watch out for checkout time - I wasn't happy that their guide in the rooms states 11.30 but they say that checkout is 11 - bit misleading. Other than this, can't fault the hotel and the location. Entrance is in a lovely courtyard style. Everything is walking distance to the centre (around 15 mins depending on how quickly you walk) it actually takes longer by taxi!

Room Tip: Room 104 was my room and it's pretty lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kin words. How great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel that much. We checked the Guest Guides in every room and changed the check-out time to the right one. I am sorry about that. We are looking forward to welcome you back when you will visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

we stayed here at the weekend - clean rooms v modern pleasant staff good location
however my only gripe are the corridors - because they are tiled you can hear everyone walking past and it meant we were kept awake from early morning between luggage being rolled past and people talking - otherwise nice stay - paid extra to have junior suite - its really a slighter bigger room so if you are expecting a bigger room - book the penthouse suite which im sure are worth the money for view alone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. I forwarded your compliments about our pleasant staff to the entire team and you made them really happy. Great to hear you loved the rooms and location. I am sorry to hear that you heard noises from the corridor. We contacted a company which is an expert in noise reduction last week and we our looking for the best option. So this is in proces. We would love to welcome you back in the future and you are more then welcome to book a penthouse next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel is situated close to museumspleun, in walkingdistance.
After the museums take the tramp to the citycenter it takes app. 15 minutes.
Supermarked is situated 200meter from the hotel..
We bought Amsterdam card, a very good idea, and we saved a lot of money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Henrik,

Thank you very much for staying at Grand Hotel Downtown and taking the time to leave a comment on Tripadvisor for our hotel.

Nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay and that you have saved on Museums and other attractions by purchaing the Holland Pass from our front desk.

We hope that you will return to visit Amsterdam in the near future and that you will stay at Grand Hotel Downtown.

Have a nice afternoon and we look forward welcoming you again at Grand Hotel Downtown.

Kindest regards,

Grand Hotel Downtown Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely modern hotel at a reasonable price. Room was clean and very spaceous with clean towels every day. We were on the ground floor, think the penthouse suites are on the top floor, so no problem with lifts or stairs for us. Staff were very friendly and very helpful with directions and local knowledge of trams, buses museums etc. Only down side was the TV reception was not the best in our room, but as we were only in it to sleep it didnt matter to us.
Five minutes from city centre (Dam Square) on the trams or if you feel like it approx 30 minutes walk.
Only ten minutes walk from Van Gogh museum and ten minutes from Anne Frank House.
Airport is 20 minutes in a Taxi, 36euro.
Thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mr Aly N,

Thank you very much for leaving a review for Grand Hotel Downtown.

We hope that you have had a great time in Amsterdam.
Sorry to read that the reception of your television has not been up to standard during your stay. We have informed our maintenance about this matter and hope that this will be resolved as soon as possible.

We look forward welcoming you back at Grand Hotel Downtown and please do not hesitate to contact us, should you have any further queries.

Kindest regards,

Grand Hotel Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Top class service and style. We were well looked after, and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.

The rooms may have period windows that can be a little drafty if they don't shut properly. But that is mainly due to the character of the building.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for our hotel.

It gives us great plessure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Downtown.
We will take a note of the draft in the rooms that has been mentioned by you and we will inform our maintenance team.

Of course are we looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Hotel Downtown in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you have any further queries.

Kindest regards,

Grand Hotel Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.