We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Top class service and style. We were well looked after, and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff.

The rooms may have period windows that can be a little drafty if they don't shut properly. But that is mainly due to the character of the building.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for our hotel.

It gives us great plessure to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Downtown.
We will take a note of the draft in the rooms that has been mentioned by you and we will inform our maintenance team.

Of course are we looking forward to welcome you back at Grand Hotel Downtown in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us, should you have any further queries.

Kindest regards,

Grand Hotel Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    116
    47
    11
    15
See reviews for
32
158
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and really liked this hotel. Good location, 10 minutes walk to museum district, 10-15 to Leiden Square. The hotel is brand new and modern, the room is well decorated and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. WIFi is quick and efficient. We did not have breakfast in the hotel, there are some cafes nearby with excellent choice of food.

Very nice experience overall. Will come back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mrs. Maya,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Grand Hotel Downtown.

We are very pleased and proud to read your comment about our hotel. It gives us great pleasure knowing that our staff has done everything in their power to accommodate your needs.

Thank you once again for taking the time writing a review and we hope to welcome you back at Grand Hotel Downtown in the near future.

Have a wonderful afternoon and thank you once again for taking the time to complete a review.

Regards,

Management
Grand Hotel Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It was a ground floor hotel, with no view (you had to be careful not to be seen from the people passing outside or by the buildings nearby), no fresh air, only air condition and no breakfast included in a pretty high price. The third day we came back in an uncleaned room and they had also forgotten the detergent in our bath!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate this and it helps us to improve our service. Our hotel is situated on the ground floor and on the sixth floor. This is because the building had several facilities. For example two other hotels, lunchroom, residents who live in the building. Please do not hesitate to book a room on the sixth floor next time. These rooms also include a private terrace with an amazing view.
I am really sorry to hear that your room was dirty when you returned to your room. I communicated this to our housekeeping manager and we discussed the issue so it won't happen again. We forwarded this to all our employees to pay extra attention. We do love to welcome you back in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We spend three nights in this hotel and will recommend this hotel to anyone that will what a good night sleep in a confortable bed. The rooms are big compare to european standands. The beds are very comfortable and the room is very clean. The personnel at the front desk are very helpful and go out of their way to take care of all your travel needs. The hotel is a little bit far from main attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge M, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and recommendation. I forwarded you compliments to our staff members and you made them really happy. We would love to welcome you back in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.