We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern beautiful hotel, recommended for family.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A modern beautiful hotel, recommended for family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with family. The location of this hotel is achievable by public transport. The family room is well decorated with curtain is fitted to separate between parents and children beds. That is a brilliant idea to give parent privacy but not separating the kids in different bedroom. The bathroom is very clean and modern. In addition, this hotel is owned by muslim. Hence, it serves only Halal food (staff information). The staff is also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you liked the room. The owner of the hotel is indeed Muslim but for breakfast everything we serve, all kind of items, are also non-halal. The only difference is that there is no pork meat for your sandwich but chicken, turkey, etcetera. If you prefer pork meat please do not hesitate to add this as a preference or to tell our front office and we will arrange this for you. I am looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    116
    47
    11
    15
See reviews for
32
158
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Modern stylish rooms, especially the bathroom with lovely under floor heating.

Located conveniently close to the centre of Amsterdam and had car parking (for extra charge). We found it easy to walk to Anne Frank's house (15 mins) , De Wallen (20 mins).

Room was a bit on the small side (we had one of the cheapest rooms). Not a problem for a couple of nights stay but you may want to pay a bit more for a larger room if you plan on staying longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the review. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We offer double/twin rooms,junior suites and penthouses that are more spacious. Please feel free to upgrade your stay next time. I would love to welcome you back when you visit Amsterdam again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oftringen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

New and modern room, the staff were very attentive and polite. The bed was big enough for us to sleep with our 2 year old son. I can't give an opinion about the breakfast because we haven't had. The hotel is not in the city center, so thought it was good because we were with our son. Not so far from the attractions and to walk easily. If you need a garage, I suggest booking before, because there are few areas, and very difficult to stop in the streets of Amsterdam. I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments. I am pleased to hear that you had a good stay and you will stay hear again. Don't hesitate to contact us in the future and we will make a reservation for you and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Location of this hotel is very good, being very close to Vondelpark and Museumplein. A nice walking distance to both as well as to Leidseplein. There are some good places to eat nearby. Having reserved in advance, I could use the parking lot for extra 25 euros a day. The decoration of the rooms are of very good taste. We liked our family room a lot, as the two children slept in a separate room. It is a pity there wasn't no door between the two rooms. Cleaning is not very well looked after though. We broke a glass cup in the bathroom one evening. Told reception about it the next morning, so that the cleaning lady wouldn't get hurt. The next evening there was still some small glass pieces around. Reception girls are very nice and speak very good English too. All in all a very good hotel for a fair price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and feedback. I forwarded your compliments about the service to all our employees and you made them really happy. I am sorry to hear that there was still some glass in the room. I communicated this to the housekeeping department and advised them to be aware of situations like this and they are going to pay extra attention. I am looking forward to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I arrived in Amsterdam, following my gps, the last 7 km took ... 75 minutes starting 15.30h, outside of peakhours ...
When I arrived in the steet I haven't found the hotel, no sign at all to be seen, really incredible, stopped in a fastfood restaurant and they expalined me that it was just on the other side of the road, impossible to guess !
Then I wanted to go in the parking, impossible, you had to go first to the reception and register, in one of these streets where you have no parking space.
Finally made it, you have to reserv in advance, then you get a card for entrance of the parking, but you have also to pay Eur 20 in cash as a guaranty, never had that before.

The rooms are ok and clean, nice bed.
But very noisy, you hear everything from the corridor, no noise insulation, not acceptable.

Next morning I had to leave early, left round 7 am, again you have first to drive out of the parking, put your car wherever you can, bring back the card to the reception and then you get your
Eur 20 back ....
Very complicated. Not practical at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasin Y, General Manager at Grand Hotel Downtown, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. We really apreciate that. I understand that you had a difficulty with finding the hotel. The hotel is in a building with different facilities. Next week there will be a big sign in front of the hotel which you are able to see from the road and it makes it easy to find the hotel. In case of the parking, this is the best way for us to do it. The parking garage is part of a public parking and we have reserved a number of parking places for our guests. To guarantee the parking places we provide parking cards and ask a deposit and therefor the guests need to register at the front desk before you drive into the garage. We have to activate the card to access. This is all because the parking place is public and used by different companies. We will take this into account and try to improve this situation. I am really sorry to hear you heard all the noises from the corridor. That is offcourse not acceptable and you are here for a good night sleep. We are going to solve this problem as soon as possible and made an appointment with a company which is expert in noise reduction. Despite the unpleasant situations I would really love to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Quite nice room, with an impressive terrace on the town sightseeing. Position central enough to reach everything by foot. Eventually tram stop is nearby. Service and courtesy of the staff. No complain (maybe pay per view missing is a minus).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We drove straight to hotel bit hard to find but got there in the end! They do have parking which is 25e per night but I would reccomend parking here as it is right next door to hotel, the receptionists were great and very helpful and really nice to our children! The family room was good and lots of space and we did have tea and coffee facilities too! Lots of restaurants nearby too about 10 minutes walk away but receptionist was v helpful showing us the areas to go etc... Very happy with this hotel and breakfast great too .... Thank you grand hotel

Room Tip: We had family room 130 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, EasyToBook and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.