We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice designed room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, Amsterdam 1054 BR, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Our new website is live!
Ranked #105 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    92
    34
    9
    14
See reviews for
24
124
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and found the room clean and well appointed. Furnishings were all good quality and bed linen was very comfortable. We stayed in a small double room for the affordability. Although small, the layout was good and the high ceilings meant that we did not feel claustrophobic at all. Although not in the main city area, this hotel is conveniently located for the no. 1 tram service and we did not have any trouble getting to the places we were visiting.
The day time receptionists are great and seem to have good knowledge of attractions and directions. However, when we first checked in, it was late and the night receptionist was polite but did not know anything about the local attractions at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

AVOID THIS HOTEL LIKE THE PLAGUE, TERRIBLE SERVICE, WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND THEN DONT CARE ABOUT ANYTHING REGARDING YOU!!!!!!
My husband and I arrived at this hotel last week for our honey moon, before arrival i emailed them three times to confirm we would be recieving the honeymoon suite, we were emailed back saying it wouldnt be a problem and its all booked for us. We get to the hotel and they have no idea what i was talking about, i show them the email and they deny it. We get to the room, it was MUCH smaller then pictures online. The shower was dirty, the toilet seat broken, the lamp by my bed broken without a lamp shade and the air conditioning unit was extremely loud. We went to the receptionist to explain and she told us she was the only staff at the hotel and she couldnt help us with anything. I asked her to call a manager which she refused to do until i was close to tears and the manager said he cant do anything except offer us another room but wed have to pay a extra 50 per night!!!!! I was in shock!!!!!! She was rude and horrible!!!!! The hotel is tiny, all floors are bottom floor so not very good rooms and the internet was broken the last 2 days we were there.
In my opinion stay away from this hotel!
They will really grate on your nerves and ruin your holiday!!!
I really hope this review ensures people dont experience the same nightmare i had!!!!
Good Luck Travellers :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's been difficult to find a hotel in Amsterdam that is not only reasonable but is also conveniently located with decent room sizes. For the Downtown Hotel (forget the Grand as it neither deserves the 4-Star it claims nor the 'Grand' status as it lacks not only superior decoration nor amenities such as pool or gym) it's reasonably priced (garage costs €25/day extra) and somewhat clean when I compare it to other Hotels I have stayed in Amsterdam. The service was friendly, the location is ok if you don't mind a bit of walking (c. 10 min to Leidesplein and c. 15 min to the Rijksmuseum) and the hotel and room I stayed in are plain and functional. So don't expect a 'grand' set up and expect a 3-Star quality. Very disappointing was clearly the room which I expected to be large considering that I booked a Penthouse "Suite" which I expected to live up to the word 'Suite' but it was at best a Deluxe Room on the top floor of the hotel (wonder how they have taken the hotel pictures of the room as the angle is impossible) and the terrace had to be shared with 3 other Penthouse 'Suites' with no chairs or tables provided.

We stayed for 3N and the bed sheets were not changed during the stay. The cleanliness was superficial and appeared to be done in a rush (for 3N the bathrobe was messed together in the towel rack and replacement towels were just stacked on top). If you looked closely under the bed and on the bathroom floor you know that the room was only superficially wiped. But hey, its not a 4+ Star Hotel so we don't want to be too picky.

Overall, I still think that the hotel is fine if you don't expect high standards and don't mind a bit of walking to get to the main attractions.

Room Tip: Since even the Penthouse Room was fairly small I can assume that the Large Penthouse Room has a dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I know the title may seem oxymoronic, but it was true. Like other Amsterdam hotels in which we've stayed, the square footage of this place was on the smaller size. Nonetheless, the layout of the room made it feel quite spacious. the was room for our luggage, and we didn't feel like we had to dance around each other to get to the restroom.

The room's decor was lovely. From the furnishings to the art, to the tile in the bathroom, to the concealed TV behind the mirror. It was a classy room for a reasonable price.

Plus the rooms were clean and quiet. We had stayed in another Amsterdam hotel before moving here, and we were so glad we made the move.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This place is located relatively close to the downtown (tourist) area of Amsterdam.
The hotel is very modern and clean. The rooms are very nicely furnished and the staff is friendly.
Great find in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

very good located, clean hotel, walking distance to most sight seeing musts. disturbing air-co and ventilation in the room compensated by very comfortable beds. adres to recommand to friends or come back for other visit

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, Amsterdam 1054 BR, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.