We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its ok but bloody cold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Downtown to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Downtown
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Yaroslavl, Russia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“its ok but bloody cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

been in this hotel for a 3 days. everything was ok so far so good but showers and room was awfuly cold and nothing helped!this coldness spoil all our stay its was march! i doubt that i ever stay in hotel where the heat sistem is so suck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    126
    51
    13
    18
See reviews for
36
172
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in the large penthouse room with terrace overlooking the city and i would highly recommend it. We got a great internet rate. The room and bath were beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable. Located next to the tram to central station and many great neighborhood restaurants, it was very convenient. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to help. One gentleman at the desk arranged for a 2am taxi for my daughter who was at a late night event. I was so grateful. Five stars for this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great hotel, in a great location. All was clean, working and comfortable. A back room is a must since the hotel is only the ground floor, but double glass windows make it quiet. Breakfast wasn't included and a bit expensive considering the wonderful cafes surrounding. Pretty easy to get to from Amsterdam centraal. Located in the museum district, near residential families so the people around are friendly with delicious food served in the restaurants across the road. Overall the room was a little small but definitely work-able and enough room for two. For the price and the location, it was amazing. No pool or spa facilities but free wifi, minibar and air conditioning. An excellent stay, certainly recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My friend and I flew over for a mid-week city break. The hotel did not disappoint; friendly, helpful staff, nothing too much trouble, freebies in the mini fridge, spotless, boutique style etc. Yes the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Dam Square but why complain? We walked up to the centre and took in the shops, eateries, outdoor cafes and fantastic buildings. Another day we took the tram which stops a 2 min walk away and was so easy to use (they literally run every 3/4 mins and are v cheap-get a 24 or 48hr pass). We only used one taxi ride and that was to get us from the station to the hotel on arrival. Dutch people are friendly and helpful and they all seem to speak perfect English. We had booked a junior penthouse but when we arrived they upgraded us to a superior penthouse for no reason.
Would highly recommend to anyone :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawalli, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

the hotel is faraway from the center ( 10 to 15 min walking to get the laedesplin square) and the price was expensiv and could get better hotel with better location cheaper,the staff were unprofessional at all room was not clean when we arrive , we stayed for 8 days and thy didnt wipe the floor for the stay it was horrible on day they took our pillows and the didnt replace i talk with the reception thy send us 2 dirty pillows without pillow case they said this is the last 2 pillows they have in the hotel i was shocked and promis to talk to the manager at that time she went and came back with new pillows . Go to Park Hotel Park Hotel Park Hotel Park Hotel and you will not regret it far better than this hotel and location is perfect and same price .I tried Park Hotel in my previous trip to amsterdam and it was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well what can say about this hotel. Firstly, the minute i walked in the door the staff were very helpful, the woman at the font desk was very friendly and helpful got us checked in and immediately told us about what was near us and how to get around the city. I was very impressed with this, no stigma about speaking English with us.

our room was quite small, but very clean and a big comfy clean bed. you get what you pay for as this hotel is a little walk away from the centre of the bars and "red light district", however you are a ten minutes walk to a square with lots of bars and shops, i felt this area was very central but you were half hour away from train station- i preferred this area as it was quieter at night.

we managed to find two amazing little restaurants in this area which had amazing service and food.

i very much enjoyed my stay here.

the only complaint i have is that the shower is very small, and the door to get into the shower opens into the shower and there is a shelf within the shower, therefore making it very tight for getting in and out, if you were feeling a little overweight i would advise to ask for a bigger shower.

Room Tip: ask for a bigger shower within the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Downtown

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygenstraat 10A, 1054 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.