We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tia Rosa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tia Rosa
Reguliersgracht 11, 1017 LJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0208203749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #739 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was our 2nd visit and we were not disappointed. The food was exceptional and the Sangria was awesome. The service was great. The server was very personable and helpful in explaining the menu. The food arrived in a timely manner. The restaurant filled up quickly, so you may want to go early. We had a cozy table by the window and enjoyed the overall experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    11
    11
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is not Spain”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Yesterday I went to Tia Rosa with a group of Dutch colleagues and I told them..."This is not Spain", "This is not Spanish food". Spanish Omelette? Calamares a la romana? Pan con ali-oli? Are you sure what you served me yesterday is what you eat in Alicante, Sevilla, Barcelona or Madrid? Even my colleagues (all Dutch) thought it was terrible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tapas in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stumbled upon Tia Rosa in search of a restaurant for our final meal in Amsterdam and somewhere fun to celebrate my husband's birthday. Tia Rosa is located in a beautiful neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and the food was excellent. We ordered a good bottle of wine from their moderate but complete wine list. If you go, order the manchego cheese, the seafood and the fried potatoes. Our only complaint was that it was too warm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Latest visit...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've eaten here several times and it's been generally ok...enough to repeat the visit with a group of colleagues last week for an 'occasion'. We took the easy option "chef's surprise" which is a pre-set menu of tapas.
Firstly, we waited over 20 minutes for the drink order to be taken, then eventually the food arrived in dull, cold dumps. Not a single one of our tapas were Spanish (for example: a cold salmon wrap? Looked as tho it had come straight from a supermarket). The other 'dishes' were cheap, uninspiring, small and disappointing.
One of our group went on for a takeaway because she has not had sufficient.

We asked to sit outside but it's only for short periods...the squat stools were designed by the Marquis de Sade to punish those sitting down for more than 5 minutes.

The place has a lovely location and looks good but the service and food let's it down. As the host of a group visiting Amsterdam, when you have to apologise to your guests for your own choice of restaurant it's embarrassing and I won't be repeating it.

The odd thing is: the restaurant doesn't seem to get it. Slow service, poor food, uncomfortable seating, hacked-off customers. Not a good combo in the hospitality business.

Pay it a visit by all means but set your expectations low and realise that there's much better all over Amsterdam - in fact almost anywhere in Amsterdam. I've been cruising its restaurants for 5 years now and this one is very low on the list.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Service was excellent, great atmosphere and the food was fantastic, tasty and freshly cooked.All the courses were excellent and we would have been happy to return.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tia Rosa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Tia Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tia Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.