We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Mari-Woo Bros.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woo Bros

Woo Bros
Jodenbreestraat 144, 1011 NS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20-4280488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #381 of 2,402 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Mari-Woo Bros.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love our Asian food, so visiting an Asian restaurant whilst in Amsterdam for us was a must and Woo Bros was excellent.

The place is easy to find as it's just down the street as the Rembrandt museum (just walk past the museum with it on your right and you'll find Woo Bros just down from there).

The restaurant had a nice vibe and started to fill up and get busy later, so we were glad that we booked ahead.

The staff were very friendly and attentive, keeping us topped up with our wine and water. As with a lot of Asian restaurants, the food comes out in bits and pieces, so we knew what to expect. As the menu recommends, pick 2 or 3 main dishes for the best experience (We went with 3 each, some noodles each and some edamame beans as well!).

The lobster spring roll with garlic aioli was superb (though we could have eaten about 10 more!) as was the soft shell crab, Vietnamese salad and seared tuna. Everything was either really good or great - though the butterfly prawns with mango salsa wasn't the best but still nice.

Price wise it was ok but one of the more expensive places we ate during our time in Amsterdam but we didn't feel short changed as the food was amazing, one of the best Asian restaurants we've been too!

They don't have a huge selection of desserts but was very pleasantly surprised by the ice cream flavours and the spiced layered cake! Lovely evening, great atmosphere with great food, highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“mixed bag!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Asian dining with a difference, the menu is a mix of many asian countries food and misses out on
particular specialities of any one country, they advise ordering several dishes as the quantities are small and we found that they were quite bland and a mish mash and the drinks were expensive. The waitress was very helpful and attentive. At the end of the evening, the 4 of us agreed we would not be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you are hungry and right there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Simply stated, the kitchen is open late so if you are hungry and walking around looking for a quick bite to eat, this place works. Nothing was special except for maybe the service. We had a duck, beef and fish dish. The noodles were bland but again, okay.

Not my fav but did the trick! (This is what happens if you don't make reservations:)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Asian food in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went to this restaurant after a long day touring Amsterdam. It's in busy location just a minutes walk from Rembrandt's house. The interior is very spacious and decorated in a vibrant colour scheme. The best way to eat here is to eat in the typical Chinese way, that is to order a selection of dishes to share.

We ordered five dishes between two plus one bowl of noodles and that was plenty. I can recommend the steamed scallops and the green pepper beef.

Overall, really good, and I'd go there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just right - a wide variety of very tasty food, excellent attentive yet unobtrusive service, pleasant decor, well worth a visit. We had a very pleasant meal in about one hour, yet never felt rushed.

Only one possible improvement suggestion; indicate on your menu which dishes are hot (spicy) and which are not. The Thai curry was very tasty. It had a generous helping of spicy peppers and would have been too spicy for my fellow diners (who therefore had none).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woo Bros also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Woo Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woo Bros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.