We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed eating our delicious fish and chips outside the pub.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Donnel Irish Pub

O'Donnel Irish Pub
Ferdinand Bolstraat 5, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1,121 of 2,151 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Enjoyed eating our delicious fish and chips outside the pub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My group and I walked for a long time to find a restaurant that 8 of us "seniors' could enjoy. So many were really loud and cuisine just wasn't what we were looking for. Finally, we saw O'Donnel Irish Pub. Only a couple of people were inside which made us wonder about the food. However, outside there is a plaza that the customers can sit and give their orders to the servers.

They put 3 table together for us, took our orders, brought the food out fast (and it was hot and delicious) plus they gave us separate checks as needed.

Those of us who had fish and chips were thrilled with our meal. It was starting to get dark. They put candles on our tables. Luckily, the temperature was very nice so we could eat outside. However, when it is cold, I'm sure the restaurant is packed. With food and service like this, why wouldn't they be?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    3
    10
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub in great area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Irish Pub but with NO IRISH MUSIC, other than that a great indoor & outdoor area. Staff are helpful & service is OK. Food is very reasonable & good value. orth a visit but as stated don't expect any Live Music.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“we liked it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

it was near our hotel and nice to be away from the tourist hoardes. lovely waitress. food and prices were middle range. not a bargain, but it was fair and pleasant. as good a bet as anywhere if you are guessing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lousy food and expensive drinks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friend lives in the area and we decided to give this place a try. We both ordered fish and chips. Everything clearly came from a can or a box. The pre-breaded fish was over cooked, and did not taste very fresh. Even the french frites were a failure, being completely dry.

After getting the bill we realized that a pint of beer was €7 which is far from standard price in amsterdam, even for a touristy place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech republic
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Irish Pub in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very good burger andother food, only small problem was that we selected a dish, it was not available, than selected other, not available, third try was fortunately success. The food was pretty good and inexpensive. Pub looks nice, there is availability of outdoor seatings during the nice summer weather as well which is nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Donnel Irish Pub also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to O'Donnel Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Donnel Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

You added O'Donnel Irish Pub to your Saves list