We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & cheerful Indian restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amnol Indian Restaurant

Amnol Indian Restaurant
Eerste Constantijn Huygenstraat 115, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap & cheerful Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

One of those places which doesn't look much from the outside - and to be fair the inside isn't exactly luxurious, feels more like a cafe than a restaurant! However very good Indian food at a reasonable price - main courses were up to about 10 euros including rice. Worth a visit, especially if you're on a budget.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    14
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awfully dirty!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This was THE dirtiest restaurant I have ever seen in my life.
We searched in this site and there were 7 good reviews so we thought it should be good but when we get there we saw a completely empty restaurant and no wonder. The tables were like never got cleaned. The knives and forks were just like that on the very same table without napkins!
The toilets were disaster. I have never seen such a dirty towel in my life. I actually never seen that restaurants use normal towels in their bathroom.
We left without ordering anything but they charged those of us using the WC. 1€ per person.
If you do care for your health and clean place to eat I don't recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you care about your health eat elsewhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We decided to go this place and have Indian food, the prices were okay, it didn't look so bad from the outside, and it had a few good reviews. Things changed quickly once we went in.

First thing that caught my eye: my spoon, fork, and my knife were plain on the table. Not on a napkin or anything, just on the table. My friend tried to pick up his knife, but it was stuck to the table! You could tell that it had not been picked up and cleaned for a while.

The menus were also dirty and had a lot of food marks on them. After some discussions we decided not to eat at this restaurant at all, most of us lost our appetites after seeing all this. The owners charged us a euro per person because we used the washrooms and were rude to us once they saw we were leaving.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best indian food we ever tasted!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We saw the good rewievs and decided to give the somewhat shabby-looking restaurant Amnol a try on a friday evening - and we were amazed!

One of us had the Fish Madras, the other one Lamb Masala and both were super delicious. Perfect and tender meat and fish, lovely sauce that was delicately spiced, and the Nan-bread was just perfect.

In addition, we only paid about 30 euros for two mains and drinks, very priceworthy.

The service was perhaps not Amnol's strongest card, but we'll definitely come back to taste the food again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food, Near to Leidseplein”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Literally around the corner from the Best Western Leide Hotel where I was staying. The Hard working Owner was so friendly and grateful as it was a quiet night ( only one other diner and someone collecting a takeaway when I was there).
Honestly the best home made Samosa I have eaten in years and a decent curry. Good Prices.
Highly Recommended

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amnol Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amnol Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amnol Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.