We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have not tried strudel , you have not been in cookie bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melly's Cookie Bar

Melly's Cookie Bar
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 137, 1012 RJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31204234797
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 2,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Dessert, Café, Sandwiches
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you have not tried strudel , you have not been in cookie bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you came here you must try a strudel. It's the best strudel in the world. By the way, you even can see how it was cooked - kitchen is right near the bar.
Staff here is amazingly friendly.
Also there alot of other cakes and cookies and all of them are delicious.


The Doors should sing this song:

Well, show me the way
To the next cookie bar
Oh, don't ask why
Oh, don't ask why

Show me the way
To the next cookie bar
Oh, don't ask why
Oh, don't ask why

For if we don't find
The next cookie bar
I tell you we must die
I tell you we must die
I tell you, i tell you i tell you we must die

Oh, moon of Amsterdam
We now must say goodbye
We've lost our good old mama
And must have cookie, oh, you know why

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    24
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome croissant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Will definitely visit again. We tried their chocolate croissant and butter croissant. Very good customer service. Will try their apple struddles next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“great alfahores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

As a true Argentinaphile I can honestly say that I had the best alfahores here that I have had since I left Patagonia 4 years ago. Friendly staff, good coffee and excellent patisserie. I just had to buy a box of alfahores to take home with me so that I can enjoy them for a couple of weeks more. Try the maicenas - they're my favourites!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oost-Souburg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely little place with delicious goodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stepped in for a quick break and were pleasantly surprised by this cute little bar. Coffee and chocolatemilk were delicious and so were the pastries we chose. Nice lady at the counter made you feel you could have been sitting somehere in south america

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Used to work close by and would always take a break to buy a nice tasty alfajor. Nice staff And great options for dessert Iin the center of Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melly's Cookie Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Melly's Cookie Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melly's Cookie Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.