We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great taste experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese factory

Cheese factory
Warmoesstraat 56, 1012 JG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0202235500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,069 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Cheese factory is shop and a cafe with a fine selection of cheese and natural products.The menu has been designed by the Chef Mattia Peloso known to be a former chef the partie’ of the London Novikov Team, with the support Of Ginger Zerbetto, who’s last project has been the now popular Izakaya .The duo created a synergy of passion and experience taking the cheese element to a new level.A combination of flavors that mixed all together reminds how still cheese has a lot to say in terms of emotions and taste.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great taste experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for lunch which was very pleasant. Unfortunately they are unlicenced so those who craved some red wine with cheese were disappointed. Had the fondue and cheeseboard which was delicious.
The shop is great although don't expect supermarket prices as this is more artisan cheese.however you can sample it all!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    20
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It delivers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's okay. Friendly staff, and menu with stndrd dishes. The lighting is really bright, which sometimes can be bit annoying

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscova
1 review
“Beautiful concept business. Bad tasting food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Me and my husband dined at the Cheese Factory and I loved the concept of shop and restaurant it looked very promising. Very disappointed we could not get wine with our meal. Once meal arrived it was a disaster. We ordered the selected cheeses for our starter and it was overpriced for what you do get. The pasta was disgusting I could hardly finish my meal. The menu is very typical Italian which I found strange since every other place on that busy street was pizza and pasta. The service was helpful. If you are thinking of eating there I would suggest to just snack on the free samples in the shop and purchase your own cheese to make a much better sampler and for much cheaper. I would not recommend dinner there but if your looking for cheese the shop is a great stop for your Dutch cheeses.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Overal view is really nice and cosy, if you lookin for a nice diner with simple but nice mixture of flavours you have to try it for sure!! And further just enjoy when you are there!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Watch the bill!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Food was good, but watch the bill. We were never told that large sparkling water wasn't, included with the lunch special so when they charged us for them we said "I don,t think so". Service was also very poor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese factory also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cheese factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.