We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a factory but a restaurant & shop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cheese factory

Cheese factory
Warmoesstraat 56, 1012 JG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
0202235500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,071 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Cheese factory is shop and a cafe with a fine selection of cheese and natural products.The menu has been designed by the Chef Mattia Peloso known to be a former chef the partie’ of the London Novikov Team, with the support Of Ginger Zerbetto, who’s last project has been the now popular Izakaya .The duo created a synergy of passion and experience taking the cheese element to a new level.A combination of flavors that mixed all together reminds how still cheese has a lot to say in terms of emotions and taste.
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Not really a factory but a restaurant & shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

After it being highlighted on the tourist map we decided to visit. It was disappointing to find that its not a factory but a restaurant & shop. Having said that there are probably about 50 variety of cheeses that you can sample, most are very nice & I guarantee you'll buy some, I did. The restaurant looks very nice & clean, the staff are very helpful & prices aren't bad. I would recommend it but don't expect a factory tour or anything.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    20
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

As there was a group of us and we missed our breakfast in our B&B, we went looking for a place to eat, that is when we stumbled upon this place. At the front door was a menu with very reasonable prices for Amsterdam. Once inside the front is like a cheese museum with all wonderful looking dutch cheeses, with little bowls allowing you to try them all. At the back is a very fresh and modern restaurant, after sitting down for a couple of minutes we were asked for our order and drinks. The food was cooked in an open plan kitchen although it was a little slow to arrive but when it did it was well worth the wait, the presentation was fantastic and it was beautiful tasting.

Overall, this place is very modern looking and reasonably priced. The staff are friendly and service on the whole is great. We ended up going here 3 days running for either breakfast or dinner we loved it that much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great experience if a bit chaotic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

While tasting Dutch cheese in the shop, we discovered that the Cheese Factory had a small restaurant on the premises. Very friendly, young staff in a small, comfortable eatery with open plan kitchen. Excellent food and entertainment provided by the chaotic kitchen staff under the watchful and slightly panicky eye of the manager. A very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place & Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent 3 days in Amsterdam and this was such a nice place, we went there twice! Everything we had (chicken / beef / salads / pasta) were very good and the prices were great for Europe! The service was a tad slow - but that was ok as the atmosphere was friendly and fun. (We made fast friends with a couple of students next to our table and traded notes on other places)
If your hotel is located in this area of Amsterdam, give it a try

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

FANTASTIC FOOD. Some staff is a little bit slow but it is a rather busy place. You go back because the food is just so great! Large servings but you can fit it in - you know you want to.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheese factory also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cheese factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheese factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.