We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainarai Westgasfabriek

Rainarai Westgasfabriek
Polonceaukade 40, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,569 of 2,283 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Second location of Rainarai, the one on the site is the central one Prinsengracht, whereas this is located in a park about 2 km from the city centre.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quirky ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Fresh tasty and delicious! The regular bowl is a good sized lunch and allows a good choice of lovely items to be included!

The staff were friendly and the beer was good!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    6
    4
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Highly recommend this restaurant! Go for it! Went with friends on a whim (no reservation) and it was worth every penny! One of the best meals we have had in Amsterdam after years living here. Extra points for generosity - good sized portions, the chef threw in a bonus couscous dish and a side salad (unheard of in Amsterdam!) and creativity (dishes well put together, flavour combinations perfect) and atmosphere (beautiful interior, good vibe, authentic feel, effort was clearly put into making of the interior - we always appreciate that). Good beer and wine offerings on the bar and staff was cheerful and seemed to enjoy working there (always a good sign). We had the humous starter with olives to share (very good!) and all of us had the tagine as the main dish. Delicious! Each dish was perfect and filling. Ingredients fresh and flavours wonderful. Value for money - excellent. They also have an outdoor area which we did not try (it was January) but I imagine it must be lovely to have food outside when the weather is nice. We will return!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very good food from Algeria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This fantastic restaurant is beautifully situated on the edge of the Wester Gasterrein, easily accessible by car and public transport. A nice restaurant with a Arabic atmosphere in a special historic building. We ate a two course " Nomadic Mezze dinner". A traditional fish soup in advance and as main course a large number of small dishes, lamb chops, squid, chicken and several vegetable dishes . All beautifully presented. Especially the vegetable dishes were plentiful and very tasty, delicious. We did not known that the kitchen from Algeria was so tasty, probably the cook is also inspired by the cuisines of other countries around the Mediterranean Sea. The service was excellent. At the coffee we received from the house a perfect baklava. Money for value was top, we will be back. In his book "My Amsterdam" top cook Ron Blue praised Rainarai: "Also for dinner, and even on rainy days, this is a sunny place."

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a local. Something different and new to us. The food tasted delicious and the service was very friendly. We were seven persons and it was difficult to talk as it was rather very loud. Nevertheless we enjoyed the evening. Thanks to the staff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Algerian Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stumbled upon this little gem while walking through Jordaan. The place was packed during lunch with locals eating in the outdoor seating area so I knew it was worth checking out. I found out they served Algerian food...something I've never come across in the states.

The food was delicious - you will find a lot of spices, curries, herbs used in all of the dishes. If you enjoy middle eastern, Mediterranean, or Indian food, you will love Algerian food.

The operation is very simple, you choose what you want from the deli case - a meat, a side vegetable, and a starch make up one dish. They heat up your dish in a convection oven and bring it to your table.

The restaurant seems small from the outside but they have a pretty large seating area. I saw a lot of locals ordering take-out though. Very friendly service, something we noticed was consistent in Amsterdam.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainarai Westgasfabriek also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rainarai Westgasfabriek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainarai Westgasfabriek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.