We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Changed my entire prespective on accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Artist House Apartments to your Saves list
Artist House Apartments
Koningsstraat 5, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Changed my entire prespective on accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We booked this accommodation entirely by accident, out of a desire to experiment with something more than just a normal hotel. Boy were we in for a surprise!

This little apartment is literally a home away from home. The couple who run it are nothing short of amazing, and their reception was impeccable. The apartment was very tastefully decorated, and needed absolutely nothing additional on our part (other than our own food and clothing).

Although taking up luggage can be a challenge, it is absolutely normal for an old city like Amsterdam; most houses are very narrow so staircases tend to be steep and narrow. This should come as no surprise to anyone who has lived or traveled extensively in Europe.

Overall, we have vowed we would never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam given the choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
52
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It's unusual to find holiday accommmodation where one just wouldn't want to change anything about the room or facilities. This was an example of that though. Very comfortable, spacious, stylish. Good kitchen facilities, excellent wifi reception, very nice cafe-bar next door, easy access to all the sights and nightlife.
Very warm, efficient and helpful welcome too.
Nothing at all to criticize.

Room Tip: stairs are a bit narrow and steep, but our room was on the first floor so that wasn't a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This is a really great appt. Flowers, fruit and biscuits were waiting for us on arrival and the friendly owner talked us through the best places to go according to our tastes. Although this is on the edge of the red light district you can easily avoid it if you wish and nowhere is more than around a half hour walk away. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The best position in Amsterdan to visit all you want just walking (bike rental available in 2 minutes, too).
Very nice apartment: really comfortable, with all facilities you need (included free wifi), very modern and very clean (also with daily cleaning service, silent.
Staff so kind!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Very romantic hotel, suitable for couples. Each room is beautiful decorated. Huge bed, well filled mini bar, very kind employees, nice reception, lovely prosecco and delicious antipasti. Every day breakfast in the room (breakfast is slightly poor). Location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Perfect location a stones throw from the Red Light District and Dam Square. Lovely clean little flat with a big comfy bed. No noise at all as it's on a quiet street. Couldn't have been happier. Will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

What a beautiful apartment. Literally a road away from the red light district and everything you want to see. Personal service, so polite and helpful. Excellent apartment I could have just stayed there the entire time! If I went back I'd have to stay in the same apartment no doubt about that. I'd request a low floor as the stairs are noisy and quite steep, but not really a problem if you don't have walking difficulties. Cute little roof top place to sit in the warm. Honestly I want to live there!! Must stay xx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Artist House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House Apartments

Address: Koningsstraat 5, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Artist House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.