We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A REALLY BAD EXPERIENCE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House Apartments

Save Saved
You added Artist House Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Artist House Apartments
Koningsstraat 5, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
forlimpopoli
1 review
“A REALLY BAD EXPERIENCE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

From August 14 to 17 we spent a short holiday in Amsterdam. Through Booking.com we made reservations for a small apartment the ‘Artist House Apartments’. The apartment is located in a central area from which you can walk to the museums and the main attractions of the city.
All apartments in this property are distributed along a steep staircase that can be an obstacle to the transfer of luggage or just to get in and out of the building.
The apartment we had been assigned was located on the 1st floor and was composed of a kitchen with a sofa and TV, a bedroom and a bathroom.
The kitchen is a bright room with a large window overlooking the street, while to the bedroom is very dark as it’s only window overlooks a backyard 3x2 meter, dingy and dirty, where the only view is the wall of the neighboring buildings and it is infested with mosquitoes in this season.
The apartments do not have a reception, and if need any assistance you have to rely on people contactable only by phone.
Our real bad experience started on 17 August during the return to Italy when we received a text message from the bank informing us that we were charged € 250.00 from 'Artist House Apartments’ in Amsterndam. Upon arrival in Italy we e-mailed an urgent request for clarification to this charge. The morning of August 18 we received a first notice of apology for the fact that there was a mistake and they would return the money. Then in the afternoon we received from Booking a note informing us that the owners of 'Artist House Apartments’ claimed 250 euro against alleged damage to a bench at the foot of the bed. The accusation was an iron burn on this bench. Damage we have absolute certainty of not having caused. Upon arriving we promptly removed the duvet and layers of extra bedding and cushions and placed them on the convenient bench at the foot of the bed until our departure (it is summer and all this extra bedding was too warm). We were on a short vacation and not there to do our ironing! We did not used the iron during our stay (and an iron is not something you use by accident!).
We have written the owners and Booking.com and to clear our position but nobody believes us, we feel completely helpless and rather ripped off, beyond the money, basically we have been considered liars and unjustly accused for damage by someone else. The assistance from Booking.com has been absolutely non-existent.
The extent of damage was calculated at the sole discretion of the owners of ‘Artist House Apartments’ – a brown iron mark on a brown fabric bench (difficult to see even in the photo they sent). The apartment therefore cost us an additional 250 Euros.
On important piece of advice that we would like to give to travelers who are interested in renting this structure: take care, at the time of delivery of the keys, to check the conditions of the apartment and the furniture and then record and report any damage in order to avoid paying a heavy extra fee. Upon departure, insist that there is a manager or person of responsibility to hand over the apartment. (In our case we were only asked to leave the keys inside and go out.) Also do not expect any help from Booking.com as their concept of customer service is to simply wash their hands of any problems!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
26
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

It is my pleasure to recommend the one-bedroom at Artist House. Everything was just perfect. From the apartment, the amenities, the services and the owner himself. We had a vase of beautiful tulips, a bowl of fruits and a box of dutch biscuits upon arrival. The one-bedroom was artistically furnished, the appliances worked, and the owner thought of everything that a guest would need. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and well stocked with amenities. There was no stinging.
The apartment is within walking distance of the railway station, about 5 minutes from the flower market, and 30 minutes from the Van Gogh museum. You do not need to buy a transit pass. Arven took the time to show me the different routes to all the tourist sites. Some of the brand hotels can certainly take some lessons from Arven .. He was friendly, accomodating and always available to answer any requests. All in all - one of my very best hotel stays,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The rooms were immaculate, everything was new and in great condition. The location can't be better for being in Amsterdam. For a european apartment, the space was quite big. The staircase could be a challenge for some older/less mobile people but we had no problems with it, in fact a lot of the smaller building in Amsterdam had similar staircases. Grocery store close by, so the functional kitchen is great to have. Can't say enough about the friendly people there, Arvin, Hans and Bong were incredibly friendly and helpful! Highly Recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is an immaculate, small apartment operation in heart of Amsterdam. 3 or 4 rooms only accessed by very steep stairs ( not suitable for children or those with less mobility). Very nice room, I had a quiet spot on top floor (with a small patio except that it was mid winter) ... delightfully decorated, fresh flowers, fruit & speciality teas, coffees biscuits etc. The management team were most welcoming and helpful. Great location 100m from Metro. Definitely recommended for an Amsterdam stopover.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I am not sure I should be reviewing these apartments as it might make it more difficult to book in the future!
These apartments are in the Nieuwmark district. They have recently been renovated to a very high standard.It has a small kitchen area with everything you would need if you wanted to cook, including a microwave and nespresso machine. It even had a dishwasher. There is a table and chairs and a sofa. The tv has many channels, including BBC.
The bedroom is at the back and once there, you can't hear the street noise. The bathroom has a bath and shower over it. Toiletries are included- right down to toothbrushes and toothpaste. A hairdryer is included.
A big bonus is that the apartments have wifi.
The owners have gone out of their way to be welcoming. We arrived early and they were happy to keep our bags till the apartment was ready. We wanted to find our way to a sports hall where OH had to collect his things for the marathon on Sunday. Arvin didn't know how to get there but went off to find out for us.
When we did arrive back to our apartment we found a vase of perfect roses and a big bowl of fruit. Also provided was a nespresso capsule selection box and a similar one for tea, which must have had every possibility under the sun:). There was also a tin of waffles.
The apartment was absolutely spotless. The location is ideal as its two minutes to Chinatown and 10 mins walk to the Dam area. Almost all of the siteseeing is walkable to. We had a 3 day metro ticket, which was at a discounted price, but didn't use it as often as we thought we would.
The apartment website is http://www.artisthouseapartmentsamsterdam.com/en/the-apartments
The photos show exactly what it looks like.
Will we return- yes, that is if they are not fully booked already.
Thanks for a great stay, Arvin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House Apartments

Address: Koningsstraat 5, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Artist House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.