We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pie, but did it have to cost so much?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pieminister

Pieminister
Oude Hoogstraat 29H, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #533 of 2,469 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: website should help you
newcastle
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent pie, but did it have to cost so much?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Having been in Amsterdam for nearly 3 weeks we wanted a change in diet so decided to try the Pieminster. It's not far from Dam Square as you walk into the Red light district where many varied restaurants are.
We ordered a pie, mash and gravy. The pies are nice and tasty, cooked to order, but the mash is very small portion and so is the gravy. It makes it an expensive meal. However in this area that probably isn't a problem as many restaurants in this area are over priced. If you fancy a change in diet, I would recommend the pies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    23
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty but nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Yesterday we walked past this café and we liked it's cosy apperance and the unique name. Today we have incidently been walking around in the same area again and felt hungry so we went inside. We enjoyed two super tasty pieces of applepie and drinks. Unfortunately the good first impression of this café has been extremely decreased by the inapropriate service and music (Techno, seriously?). The waitress was not willing to answer questions regarding the menu. Additionally we heard her shouting (litterally!) at another couple for no reason. Thereafter we did not feel comfortable anymore and felt relieved when we closed the door behind us. We prefer the cold cold outside instead the human cold inside. No tip and no futher vistit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is not a proper pie and mash shop!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Was so looking forward to good old English pie mash !! No meat pie without alcohol. No vegetarian option . All odd pies. Even gravy had alcohol. The only thing without alcohol plain was the mash. Wasn't able to buy mash only. Desert looked nice but it probably had alcohol in. Some people cannot mix alcohol with tablets. This shop should not have English pie and mash on the window.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pieministerpies, Public Relations Manager at Pieminister, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello karenlovesluxor,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear you weren’t happy with the choices on the menu. Although some of our pies have alcohol in the recipe (like the Shamrock with Irish stout, the Moo with real ale and the Wild shroom with white wine) the heat process the pie filling goes through in the casserole pan is long enough to ‘burn off’ the alcohol to a tiny amount making the pies safe for those who don’t consume alcohol and just leaving great flavour behind. All our award winning pies are made in-house in Bristol using 100% British beef, outdoor reared pork, free range chicken and venison. Our menu has several traditional English combinations such as steak and Bristol Beer Factory ale and steak and kidney on it so we do pride ourselves on being an ethical and sustainable English pie and mash shop. It sounds like we might have run out of the vegetarian options when you visited us which is a shame because we do have several.
We hope you come back and visit again and perhaps you could try the Heidi pie (Somerset goats’ cheese, sweet potato, spinach and red onion).

All the best,

Pieminister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crayford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another great pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I previously visited the Pieminister in February. I returned this week on another trip to Amsterdam. I was not disappointed. Great pies, great service. It's a great place to sit on a cold day with some lovely filling food. I again had the free ranger pie and my partner had the matador which I tried and was equally delicious! When I'm back in Amsterdam, I will be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect find on a Winter day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visited for lunch on a cold, rainy, windy Amsterdam afternoon and definatley hit the spot! Gorgeous pies jam packed with filling with mash and gravy! Yum! Between the 4 of us we sampled the chicken of arrogan and free ranger pies, both as delicious as each other

Just a 5 minute walk off Dam square for a break from the generic tourist fast food and a real taste of home!

The best thing about it is I discovered there's one in Manchester so plenty of time to sample the rest of the menu!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pieminister also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pieminister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pieminister, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.