We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Amstelstraat 2-4, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #508 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: There is a new location for this restaurant in Amsterdam. The only one available to review right now is by the library and train station.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

been there with my boyfriend while we were on a vacation. the restaurant was just outside our hotel and we ate there for 3 times.
at evening the place is very crowded so ask your partner to save a table while you're ordering the food.
the food was good, especially the pasta (bolognese/ fungi) and the chocolate cake.
the pasta is been cooked right infront of you but for the pizza you have to wait while you're seated.
at our last visit we orderd pizza but there was a mixed up, so we had to order it again and got it after waiting for more than 40 min. by that time my boyfriend finished his dish so unfortunately we both ate separately...for this reason i recommend you to order the pasta and/or other dishes that are made on the spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    69
    21
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a late lunch !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant and concept (a card is given when you enter the restaurant, and you scan it each time you order a dish or a drink).
Food is good quality for reasonable price.
I really past a great time there.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Avoid closing time too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We came in for a late dinner. Guess the pasta chef wants to go home so he wasn't very pleased when there were a few customers in queue. But the pasta was delicious. Grilled chicken Salad we ordered was so so. Will be back to try the pizzas, but not near closing time!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, not always worth the hassle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My friends and I basically live here - we find ourselves in Vapiano all the time, mostly because we love the food, it's affordable, it's generally pretty quick, and there's always a busy, sociable atmosphere. However it can be very difficult to find a table amongst the rush, so we often find ourselves going at odd times to guarantee a spot, and when busy the queues can be long and the service slow - with the odd system meaning you can spend a whole night in a queue apart from your friends, or all eating at completely different times (else waiting whilst your dinner goes cold.) When it works it works - the pizza is the best in Amsterdam especially - but if the stars don't align you can be in for a stressful evening...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Avoid rush hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We know the Vapiano from our Hamburg visit and are happy that we now have one situated near the Rembrandtplein in Amsterdam! The food is good, the wine is superb and the desserts are as always good!
But the building offers a problem in its logistics because of you have to go down to wait for your order. And in the rush hour that creates long lines.
So be prepared and go a little bit earlier or later!
Good luck!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vapiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.