We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beer, food so so.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij

De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij
Oudezijds Armsteeg 26, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #375 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fredericia, Denmark
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great Beer, food so so.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went here twice on our recent trip to Amsterdam. The beer is great, named after famous dutch singers. The price was reasonable even did the tour for 10 euros where you get to taste 4 different kind of beers. Went for dinner and was a little dissapointed. We both had fish and chips, it was okay the batter and remoulade was okay, maybe a little to much batter. However the potato wedges were not very good. Would return for beers, but not food. Also visited their store and bought two beer glasses, prices in their store are very decent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great Micro brews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

De Prael is a great micro brewery. The selection is great and the enviroment is relaxing. We didnt have any food but the beer sampler was outstanding. The menu was in emglish and they gave great backgrounds of all of the different beers on tap. Would recommend this place to anyone who is in Ansterdam!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alloa, Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great beer, friendly bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wonderful surprise in the edge of the red light district. The brew pub serves excellent beers and hearty pub grub and snacks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester - England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great beer, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our second visit to Amsterdam & our trip on both occasions included visits to De Prael. Last time we tried to taste as many of the beers as possible, plus bought some bottles to take home with us from the shop round the corner. This time we went on the brouwerij tour & ended up in the bar, where we sampled several different beers (obviously!!) & went back again later in the evening for live jazz. We also managed a final visit before making our way back to the airport. We didn't eat here, but the food we saw being served looked tasty. So, yeah we like this place & would definately recommend a visit. Staff are all very friendly too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“great beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a real surprise and a great find (to be honest a Dutch colleague recommended it) and we could hardly believe that something as good as this exisiting alongside the tourist traps which abound in this part of Amsterdam (just on the edge of the Red Light district). As a place to go and drink the locally brewed beer it is excellent and the food is not at all bad (limited in choice, but all excellent accompaniments to beer). It has a good feel to the place (part is set out like an old fashioned sitting room), the service is good and the beer is superb.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Prael Proeflokaal & Brouwerij, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.