We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere food nothing special arrogant manager/supervisor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of G's

G's
Goudbloemstraat 91, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #384 of 2,463 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: American, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This really great brunch place just west of the centre of Amsterdam serves delicious brunch items plus amazing cocktails. They also serve lunch through the week and have other events on certain evenings. It's a bit of American/British hipsterism for locals and expats alike who're looking for the best brunch in town!
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere food nothing special arrogant manager/supervisor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We were finally lucky to find a table the waitresses were really kind and nice however there was a girl supervising them really rude to the kind waitresses. Not a nice thing to see as a customer. Food nothing special and very expensive. The atmosphere is nice and cozy and music is good. Really upset to see letting their cat entering the kitchen and sitting on tables were sugar and milk and water is. I don't think I would go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    14
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

can't book waited for 45 minutes to get in.

we called in advance. would make sense to be able to reserve a table.

very arrogant and poor attitude

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Really nice place, indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Recently visited G&T's for brunch. This place is what many others try to be but don't achieve to be: probably the most fashionable neighbourhood-style cafe in Amsterdam. The atmosphere is like that of a cozy living room in a typical Amsterdam house.
Staff personally greets every customer entering the cafe, most of them are frequenters. You can feel that staff has pleasure in its work, they make you feel welcome. Brunch was really good - try the breakfast burrito, so yummy.
In a nutshell, it really is a nice place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great bunch off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely cute restaurant on a quiet little street away from all the tourist traps near town. Very unassuming erterior but opens into a charming boutique style bistro with an interesting interior. Good options on the menu, had some lovely eggs benidict (could have had a touch more hollandaise) and tasty coffee. Will try the cocktails next time. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a great place and my boyfriend and I enjoyed a delicious, relaxed, hungover brunch consisting of excellent Bloody Marys (and I am a Bloody Mary snob!) and very good eggs benedict. I was gutted that they had run out of Smoked Haddock as I had wanted an Arnold Bennett omelette but the disappointment dissolved as I tasted the eggs benedict.
Great vibe, cool decor & lovely staff. An amsterdam must!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed G's also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage G's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.