We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant

Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant
Lange Leidsedwarsstraat 27, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 620 0862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #352 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Waves Greek Cafe n' Restaurant Amsterdam is gevestigd in het centrum, vlakbij het Leidseplein, City Theater en het DeLaMar Theater. In restaurant Waves bent u van harte welkom om te genieten van verse eten, goede wijn en een vriendelijke bediening. Onze koks kunnen putten uit een groot assortiment dag verse vis n vlees. Bent u niet zo'n visliefhebber, dan zijn er ook vlees,Gyros en vegetarische gerechten die u kunt bestellen. We hebben ook een uitgebreide wijnkaart. Daarop staan zowel klassieke als Nieuwe Wereld-wijnen met een minder gebruikelijke combinatie van druivensoorten. In Waves wordt gyros met plakjes tomaat, ui, aardappel, tzatziki of yoghurt en gewikkeld in een pitabroodje gegeten.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very nice restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I am totally satisfied with Greek Waves. The food is absolutely delicious especially the Greek traditional plates like Mousakas , Pastitsio and Souvlaki... Me and my wife we will be there soon again...!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    35
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant in a pleasant atmosfere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Οne of my best food experience in Amsterdam. Loved the Mousaka and the Souvlaki. The owner Giorgos is very polite and wants every customer to be fully satisfied.

I would reccomend it to my friends also since we spend a lot of our nights there with good music and nice food !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My experience in Greek Waves Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Reccomended... I am living in Amsterdam for over 2 years and I have visited most of the restaurants...In Greek Waves I had the most delicious experience

The food was truly tasty. I had the dolmas and a gyro souvlaki which have been very well cooked and i really enjoyed my night there. The area is renovated and I would suggest it to everybody who want to have a really nice Greek restaurant experience!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seixal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is located on the square where all cuisines can be found (including one other Greek where the reviews are the worst), but... there are "but's"
Disliked the fact that this Hotel kind for runs a food at your door delivery, including from other restaurants, which the exit door never stops, with deliveries from other restaurants, and from the motorcycle distributors collecting the food for delivery.
The price I was quite for surprised, the average is from 5,50€ to 15€ per person, I ordered a 5 specials for 2 persons by 22€, and after all it was 22€ per person?!?!
Staff is friendly, but spend most of the time taking care of external deliveries, the person who spends more time at the tables have some problems talking in English (manages enough to attend to requests).
It's OK, but I've been in better greeks (outside Amsterdam)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Among all of the restaurants that my wife and I visited in Amsterdam, this one was very nice, pleasant and not to mention the food and the welcoming from the owner also our waiter. we really like the authentic cuisine. A most to visit while you are there!!! Ask for Richie he will take care of you just right.

P&B

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.