We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant

Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant
Lange Leidse Dwarsstraat 27, Amsterdam 1017 NG, The Netherlands
+31 20 620 0862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't miss this great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a great meal with wonderful, friendly service! From the moment our server Chantal greeted us we felt as if we had come to our favorite restaurant, and for the very first time. We stared with a Greek salad that was fresh and authentic with traditional light dressing. The shrimp Saganaki that followed would draw me back to Amsterdam if nothing else would. I used nearly a basket of bread to clean my bowl of the flavorful tomato based sauce laced with cheese. My wife had the Kolokithokeftedes which was excellent. For an entree we split a grilled zeebaars. We both have a sweet tooth and love Baklava, so ordered two pieces. Each was enormous and we could only finish one. If there was a weak spot to the meal I would say I will try a different dessert on my next visit.

I don't often rave about a restaurant. This one deserves the accolades.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    43
    30
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is an unobtrusive restaurant doesn't do it itself justice by its frontage! The food was excellent, service was attentive and friendly. Starter to share (Greek salad) and a main each was enough so didn;t get to the desserts which lokked great though! Only issue was that we had to ask for the window onto the street to be shut as it was a chilly June evening. However, this was not a problem and was closed quickly with no attitude! There is another Greek eatery in the same area which have been too in the past and this is better!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little place and worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We dropped into this place after having a good look along the streets lined with restaurants and each has a hawker out front vying for your patronage. The food is predominantly Seafood here but they miss nothing in the meat department. We had a beautiful meal starting with a mixed entree and then sharing a grilled meat dish. Servings are big and the Pita bread almost tastes home made. My wife finished with dessert and I went for Ouzo. W will certainly be back to this little gem when next in Amsterdam.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good quality and good value, but a bit haphazard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited here for an evening meal with my wife and grown up son. Nice clean and modern interior, with Greek music playing. We were sat at a table to the rear of the restaurant and the one downside was the large flat screen TV above our table showing news footage - totally out of character and just not needed. Drinks orders were taken and we ordered our food from the specials menu advertised outside. As vegetarians this compromised a starter of tadziki and bread and a main course of vegetable mousaka. The tadziki was creamy and well flavoured and came with a big basket of bread. Chips were served with the main course, but were plonked in front of us 5 minutes before the mousaka, so went a bit cold. Also they were a strange mix of French fries and chips - for me, give me chunky chips every time! The mousaka was great, really tasty, homemade and a good portion. The meal was finished with a fresh cup of coffee, as part of the menu special.
We did notice some issues/delays on other tables (we ate our complete meal whilst a couple of diners still waited for their starter), but our own experience was good.
Overall price for the 3 of us with drinks was about 60 Euros, which is good by Amsterdam standards.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“nice food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Like de first time which i went to eat in restaurant Waves the very rich grilled steak made me think about Zuid America the flavor of the grilled meat was very rich surely enjoys every moment and the sauce peper for sure i will came back and i wil prove this time the fish,the people hoe work there is also very nice and thar is also very importand to go back :)....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Waves Sea Food & Grill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.