We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt

Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt
Lijnbaansgracht 246, 1017RK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 616 4787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 2,585 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: In an old warehouse situated at the Amsterdam Lijnbaansgracht (a Dutch canal) a new cafe restaurant has been opened. It is a new hotspot close to the Leidse Square, In de Buurt is frequented by locals and it's conveniently located at 4 minutes walking distance from the Museumplein, the cultural heart of Amsterdam.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love this little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Menu is simple, but solid. Staff is friendly and food is underrated. A great place for a casual night out with a few friends or on a date. It is small so make a reservation!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    84
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent New Years Eve in this brilliant restaurant.The food was excellent and the service immaculate.The staff could not have been nicer and nothing was a problem.We booked by email and they responded very quickly to our request.Our group of nine left very happy feeling that it was great value for money and we were glad we found this little gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is a fantastic restaurant in a great location. I tend to always choose burgers or steak coz it is always great however leave room for the sweet choice :-)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful happenstance. Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Based upon our research and reading reviews, we were headed for lunch at the Dubbel Eten en Drinken. When we walked in, there were plenty of tables available and we asked if we could sit anywhere for lunch? They told us that they were closed for a private party which we did see in another part of the restaurant. However, the owner/manager said that they had another place that was just as good, in fact all the same owner etc. We went outside and he pointed out the "In de Buurt," which was only a few doors down. On his recommendation we did go in for lunch. GREAT! Wonderful friendly service, and excellent food. We shared the pea soup which was delicious and much different than what we were use to. The burger & fries was outstanding. Really a delicious burger. Highly recommend "In de BUURT" on its own merits. I had a Belgian beer (la Chouffe) and my wife had an Amstel. It was a pleasant lunch, and we left there not only full, but in great spirits. It just seemed like a nice place to stop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is out of date as I went back in March but as I recommended this place to a friend recently, I realised I'd never written a review. I went here with 8 friends on a Saturday night and had a lovely meal here - we all had steak and chips with salad and there was more than enough for everyone and the food was absolutely excellent. The wine was reasonably priced and it was full of locals - we'd booked beforehand after reading the reviews on here and I'm really glad we did. The place is small but always busy and the staff were great. In fact my friend lost her purse (it dropped out of her bag in the restaurant) and we didn't notice for an hour. When we did, we went back on the off-chance it was still in the restaurant and lo and behold it was and no cash had been taken out and she got a big hug from the manager. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Restaurant In de Buurt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.