We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciuos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Van Baerlestraat 5 | Museumplein, 1071 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 670 8355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 3,029 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deliciuos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This hidden place is very bricht & modern, with lots of fish variety on ice, as it should be, the Sushi and Sardines were excellent.
We'll be back, thanx!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darius Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Vibe us great. Foos is good. Prices on high side

No reservations, but v friendly staff had us seated in no time

More for locals than tourists. Vibe very lively decor trendy. Menu strong but not very out there

Lobster soup good. Butter w herbs great.

Croquettes and calamari ok. They got hubbies main course wrong but corrected quickly and was yummy. Lemon pie yummy. Nice but nit fantabulois evening out mainxourse wrong

Helpful?
1 Thank roxygirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“trendy and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

we thought the restaurant was great but make a reservation as it gets busy. the food was very good and the decor modern and chic. the service was thoughtful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda10022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go there when it's not busy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The food looked great! But we didn't get any. We had reservations but it was not going to be worth the effort. After ordering drinks and a selection of fingerfood for starters we waited for an hour to get oysters. There is plenty personell but when it's busy there just isn't any structure in what they do. Walking around empty handed. Leaving stuff on tables. We got at least 4 faces being friendly and pouring our drinks. Sure, we got apologies and the promise of an extra drink. But no food. And that drink also never came. We paid and left after an hour and had a great evening somewhere else. We'll try some other time because they must be doing something right.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre19671024752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Looked good for platters but otherwise poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Visited for lunch and was very much looking forwards to it. Early signs were encouraging, but sadly the food did not live up to expectation and neither did the service. The platters looked incredible and I wish we had ordered one. Instead I ordered the fish (cod) and chips. The batter was very greasy (normally a sign the oil was too cold when the fish was fried) and lacked any crunch. The chips were also a very mixed bag, ranging from almost raw to almost burnt.

I understand that you can have an unlucky meal, but at no time did the staff ask how the food was. Furthermore I left 3/4 of my plate including almost all the fish and the waitress took it away without comment. For me, the sign of a bad kitchen is one that does not care enough to ask why a table's food has come back uneaten. To cap it off the fish and chips was crazy expensive

Wish my experience had been better, as I would love to try the platters, but I believe i voting with my feet. Even in Amsterdam (a city where poor service is the norm), this place stands out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waspbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing