We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best seafood in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Van Baerlestraat 5 | Museumplein, 1071 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 670 8355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,525 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best seafood in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is the claim to fame of the Seafood Bar, just around the corner form the Piet Hein Hotel and we found it to be true. The fish is indeed delicious at the Seafood Bar.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    240
    40
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Dinner at the Seafood Bar was a delight from start to finish. We arrived on time for our reservation, but since they were running a little behind, the host, without hesitation, offered us a glass of prosecco on the house and invited us to take a table outside. In less than 15 minutes we were seated at a tall table in the front and our seafood adventure began. The place is white-tiled on the bar side and bricked on the other. Very inviting. Our server, Sonya, was a pure delight -- informative, informal, chatty, but very professional. We asked for her recommendations, and she was most obliging, guiding us through a terrific dinner. We drank a Casteel, a very hearty beer with an unusually high alcohol content of 11%. It turned out to be a perfect foil for our seafood. For starters we had a luscious lobster soup with pillow soft bits of lobster in a rich, dark broth; and perfectly sauteed scallops in saffron cream with sea lavender, the latter a new taste sensation worth discovering. It looks like a snow pea but has a distinct, big, spicy flavor. We shared the mixed grill for two, which included a half lobster, giant prawns, several varieties of clams large and small, various shrimp of assorted sizes and preparations, sole, sea bream, and the catch of the day, accompanied by a well dressed salad and frites. Wonderfully messy, fun to eat and all well prepared and delicious. For dessert we shared a scrumptious chocolate truffle tart with vanilla ice cream. This place buzzes with busy-ness, well deserved, and is still conducive to holding a conversation. If we lived in the neighborhood, we'd be regulars!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulicius”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The staff is amasing, welcome you just if you were visiting their home.
The fish are well seasonned and the combination with the side dishes are to die for.
Fresh wine and fresh food! It is a little pricy, but it worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were walking past the Seafood Bar and decided to stop in for lunch. It was full but they rearranged things so we could eat there and it was delicious! I had the tuna nicoise salad that was great and my husband had a tuna sandwich which he also enjoyed. Then we were lucky to eat dinner there as well. The restaurant has delicious food and is very clean. The servers were able to give great recommendations as well. Loved it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Seafood and service above and beyond the call”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband is not a seafood eater, but he indulged me to go here. He enjoyed a nice salad, but I enjoyed some great seafood and as a gluten free eater, was completely catered to. Not only was the seafood and service delicious, I decided to order chocolate mousse for dinner and the chef, just to be sure it was safe, made up a completely new batch! I was floored at the consideration, and we left a very happy couple. Amsterdam rocks!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.