We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Van Baerlestraat 5 | Museumplein, 1071 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 670 8355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great seafood place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a great place for seafood food lovers. Had dinner with my wife there, no reservation was needed although it was a Friday. Ordered the seafood platter for two ... King crab was unreal!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    211
    33
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I love the Seafood Bar - good service, delicious food, great location. The sharing platters in particular are very tasty and so reasonably proceed. I highly recommend! Only downside is that they only take a few reservations every night, so you have to walk in and hope! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Ditto. Ditto. Ditto amen. A great restaurant experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Ditto to all the raves about The Seafood Bar.

We just finished our second meal at this cool, hip, fun and fantastic Amsterdam eatery. We're now jiggling our schedule to fit in a 3rd visit before we return home to NYC.

Absolutely top-notch are the restaurant's food, vibe, service and prices. The seafood is ocean-fresh; the oysters are worth a trip. Our advice: If you like seafood, do everything you can to squeeze into your schedule a lunch or dinner at The Seafood Bar. For dinner, reservations are suggested.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torrance,ca
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

walking about in the rain after visiting museums, we stumbled upon the Seafood Bar-too bad it was so crowded that we couldn't get it! The next time we went to the Museumplein, we made a point of getting there at 11:30 am-oops, not open until 12 for lunch! They took pity on us and let us sit at the bar for a beer and wine. Finally got to order our long awaited lunch-GREAT! Lobster soup was full of lobster pieces and very brothy-not full of cream and brandy like others. Fish and chips were good, along with the squid a la plancha. So happy we finally got in here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Came here after reading TA reviews and I pleased with the results! Good food, fresh, plenty, well cooked, and nicely prepared.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.