We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Van Baerlestraat 5 | Museumplein, 1071 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-6708355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Just after a visit to the close by Van Gogh museum the time was right for lunch. Not a tourist in sight and packed gives you a good indication. There was a wide variety to choose from and the friendly staff can help you out in case of need. Fresh and simple, wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    295
    132
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise at the Seafood Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Happened to just walk in but were pleasantly surprised with the food and service.
Simple but trendy ambiance, tasty food and good service make this a favorite restaurant!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great seafood, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We ate at the Seafood Bar after a hard afternoon of shopping and we were greatly rewarded.
Although I had read that it is not possible to make reservations, it turns out you can, and you should, but we were lucky and get a table anyway.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and spent time with us to actually help decide what we wanted.
We had the lobster soup and squid to start, despite initial reservations about both, we were assured by our waiter that they were lovely and he was right, they were really good. We then had seabass which was the fish of the day and I had the fruits de mer which was really excellent and a great size.
We had many glasses of their lovely Prosecco which helped everything go down extremely well.

All round this was a very nice restaurant experience,. I would recommend it and I will be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“seafood feast at affordable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We celebrated my husband's birthday there. Pleasantly surprised by the prices, we ordered a basin of seafood - many kinds of seafood and also snails, all was fresh and delicious! Presentation was beautiful, it was an amazing experience, I wish I lived in Amsterdam to be able to go there on a regular basis!
However, we didn't order a table in advance and had to wait near the entrance (about 15-20 min) to be seated. So if you plan your visit to this restaurant in advance, you'd better call them and reserve a table so that you won't have to wait. The place is bulging with people! No wonder it's so popular - the food is delicious and seafood platters are prepared at the bar in the dinig room, so everybody can watch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was looking for a place for dinner near my hotel (Hotel Roemer) and this place looked great. For dinner I had a Heineken, complementary bread and butter, and the catch of the day (Sea Bass). It was a great meal! Rarely is the bread and butter something to note, but it was special in and of itself. The fish was very fresh and seasoned to perfection.

The atmosphere was great. I would suggest sitting in the back as the waiters were congregating by the bar where I was sitting. Also, if you are coming here with a part of more than 1 or 2, you should make reservations. I was there on a Wednesday night at 6 pm and a lot of tables were reserved and it was getting hard for patrons to get tables.

If you are in the area, stop by here and have a bite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.