We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oyster galore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Van Baerlestraat 5 | Museumplein, 1071 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 670 8355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 2,460 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $78
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oyster galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wanne have a taste of 4 different types of oysters at an good price? The Seafood bar is the place to be! Everything us super fresh, served on crushed ice with lemon, pepper ..... absolutely gorgeous. A feast for the tastebuds! Try some cod or other fish ( fish and chips) all served with matching wines).
Salades on the side with a delicious dressing. What else do you need?!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    292
    42
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Nice Way to End A Long Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful meal of mussels and frites and a few glasses of Sancerre. The staff was very friendly and nice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Calif
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Went here as it was close to our hotel and based on the Tripadvisor reviews. Great atmosphere with a lively clientel. The bread is the best in Amsterdam. The food is good too, but pricey!

Would probably look elsewhere for seafood when in 'Dam the next time based on the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Seafood at its very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My daughter and I visited the Seafood Bar twice during our recent visit to Amsterdam. The first time we didn't have a reservation, because our hotel said that we wouldn't need one during the week - wrong, make sure you book if you want to be sure of a table. Nevertheless they got us in, and I am so pleased that they did. Everything we ate was the freshest it could be oysters, small sole, tiger prawns, accompanied by chips like you get at home.
On the second visit we shared the plate of 8 various oysters, and then the large seafood dish, which included lobster, crab, prawns, mussels, clams, cockles, oysters, samphire.
If you are looking for a place where you can have a quiet meal, do not go here. If you are on a tight timescale, do not go here. If you are on a tight budget, there are things on the menu which would suit you. If you are looking to eat the best quality seafood, served without frills, then go to the Seafood Bar. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Best seafood we have got for a long time.. Fantastic starters and main causes... Great service, even one of the waiters started the same day.. Great experience .. Absolutely worth trying ..

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.