We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food with friendly services at great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Bar

The Seafood Bar
Van Baerlestraat 5 | Museumplein, 1071 AL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 670 8355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,414 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
HKSAR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food with friendly services at great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Title says it all. I went there with 2 other friends for lunch and had an excellent time! In particular their smoke eel was very delicious and all other seafood was also very good too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    196
    31
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Myself and friend had a meal here on a wonderful visit to Amsterdam. We can highly recommend The Seafood Bar. I am quite picky about restaurants and I would say I struggle to find fault with this place. The service was impeccable. We had not reserved and it was clear to us that this was a busy place (always a good sign). We were sat at the bar where the barman politely offered us a drink and gave us some background to the delicious bottle of Chablis we had just ordered. The food was excellent and was excellent quality.

There is also a large table in the middle which can be booked for families. this is surrounded by bench type tables and then tables for 2.

All in, can't fault The Seafood Bar at all. Well recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A friend and I were visiting Amsterdam this weekend and made a point of going here for a meal when we were in Museumplein for the day. I would recommend you book, we were really lucky and got a table about 5 on a Saturday but after that it filled up pretty quickly.

The staff were fantastically friendly, the food was amazing and the whole experience was a joy. If you're in this area (or even just visiting Amsterdam) I'd make a point of visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Seafood Bar, Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The restaurant was excellent - super food, super interior and very nice service.
If you happen to be near the Van Gough museum, and love seafood - the restaurant is a MUST.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by Amsterdam natives who told me not to review it on tripadvisor because it might become so popular the locals wouldn't be able to get in. The food was excellent and the service was so good that we left a tip even though that is not the custom.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafood Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.