We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown

Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown
Haarlemmerstraat 68, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 330 1658
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Mediterranean, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Small Traiteur - take out / eat in - informal but authentic Italian / Mediterranean dishes Friendly service - open kitchen - homey atmosphere - centrally located 10 mn. wak from Central station Amsterdam - shopping streetMonday: closedTuesday to Friday: 16h30 - 20h30Saturday: 12h30 - 16h30Sunday: closed
Venezia, Italia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“very well!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed, I could only taste the food to take away. Well, I must say it was great, the food would receive a good judgment even if I had taken in Italy,in the Netherlands become ecellent! The price was unfortunately expensive, but as expensive as the whole city is. Ultimately recommend it dispassionately, it is the only place that serves Italian cuisine that it really is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Prinsengracht Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Giancarlo & co of Mondo Mediterranea managed to provide us with a wonderful selection of Italian finger food , hand delivered to our boat during 'Het Prinsengracht Concert' . Beautifully displayed , fantastic flavours , in one word : SUPERB !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Magnificent Jan Carlo & Ruby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

i was with a friend who requested a good healthy meal, not too much meats but fresh and light. We stopped off at an elegant small little place with a warm looking fella wearing shorts and glasses, They were closed but with the door open. Mr Shorts (who is the delightful Jan Carlo) welcomed us in, described in great detail what they had and where it came from (Azzuzo Italy) then promptly served up a tasty light spot hitting meal. I do not have enough space to write what we ate but can honestly say, it was truly pleasurable experience dining in this wonderful little establishment yet alone the tastes we sampled all washed down by there very own white wine. A real secret on the busy Haarlemmerdijk Best service, best food hence Best feeling. Thanks guys.. Hence returning home with a must to writing a review and sharing this wonderful experience. Please try for yourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I went here on our last night in Amsterdam and were amazingly surprised at how great this food was. Furthermore the ambiance and service were superb! Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING, one of the best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ok. So, we all know the Dutch are not known for their food, or their service, serving the average food.
Hence, even in Amsterdam, we tend to go Italian.
And boy, do we LOVE it.
It's kinda more like a delie, a take away, but it also has a few small tables for lunch and early dinner / aperitivo.
That, and! Giancarlo does amazing cooking classes. That make you feel more like you're in a true Cuccina Italiano, hanging around the kitchen, where the host cooks, than anything else.
And you observe with a glass of wine. But, you can also help, cook, make, cut, chop, taste, as you prefer.

The food is truly to die for, the atmosphere too, and it's a great experience all round.

MOLTO BENE!

Ps. ALL the Amsterdam Italians go here and find it up to their high standard par.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.