We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prinsengracht Concert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown - CLOSED

Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown
Haarlemmerstraat 68, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 20 330 1658
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Delicatessen, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Small Traiteur - take out / eat in - informal but authentic Italian / Mediterranean dishes Friendly service - open kitchen - homey atmosphere - centrally located 10 mn. wak from Central station Amsterdam - shopping streetMonday: closedTuesday to Friday: 16h30 - 20h30Saturday: 12h30 - 16h30Sunday: closed
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Prinsengracht Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Giancarlo & co of Mondo Mediterranea managed to provide us with a wonderful selection of Italian finger food , hand delivered to our boat during 'Het Prinsengracht Concert' . Beautifully displayed , fantastic flavours , in one word : SUPERB !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Magnificent Jan Carlo & Ruby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

i was with a friend who requested a good healthy meal, not too much meats but fresh and light. We stopped off at an elegant small little place with a warm looking fella wearing shorts and glasses, They were closed but with the door open. Mr Shorts (who is the delightful Jan Carlo) welcomed us in, described in great detail what they had and where it came from (Azzuzo Italy) then promptly served up a tasty light spot hitting meal. I do not have enough space to write what we ate but can honestly say, it was truly pleasurable experience dining in this wonderful little establishment yet alone the tastes we sampled all washed down by there very own white wine. A real secret on the busy Haarlemmerdijk Best service, best food hence Best feeling. Thanks guys.. Hence returning home with a must to writing a review and sharing this wonderful experience. Please try for yourselves.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I went here on our last night in Amsterdam and were amazingly surprised at how great this food was. Furthermore the ambiance and service were superb! Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AMAZING, one of the best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Ok. So, we all know the Dutch are not known for their food, or their service, serving the average food.
Hence, even in Amsterdam, we tend to go Italian.
And boy, do we LOVE it.
It's kinda more like a delie, a take away, but it also has a few small tables for lunch and early dinner / aperitivo.
That, and! Giancarlo does amazing cooking classes. That make you feel more like you're in a true Cuccina Italiano, hanging around the kitchen, where the host cooks, than anything else.
And you observe with a glass of wine. But, you can also help, cook, make, cut, chop, taste, as you prefer.

The food is truly to die for, the atmosphere too, and it's a great experience all round.

MOLTO BENE!

Ps. ALL the Amsterdam Italians go here and find it up to their high standard par.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Every time I went to mondo Mediterraneo, I have been impressed by the amazing food and the great atmosphere Giancarlo and his team brought to us. It is such a great experience of the true taste of Italy in the heart of Amsterdam!
I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Europe and especially Amsterdam

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giancarlo A, Owner at Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for your kind review on Mondo Mediterraneo Uptown. your visits are very valuable to us and hope to seeing you again soon
kindest,
Giancarlo Acciavatti
banqueting consultant
www.mondomediterraneo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mondo Mediterraneo / Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.