We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Chinese food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Chopsticks

Golden Chopsticks
Oude Doelenstraat 1 1012 ED Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,028 of 2,459 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really good Chinese food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

An impressive 3 storey restaurant in the Chinatown area - very close to our Hotel and Red Light District. Most of the staff and clientele were Chinese (always a good sign when eating at a country based restaurant). Our group of 3 decided to try it out on our last day, as it MUST be good to have so many floors. With many food choices, you’d be spoilt for choice. Although, the food took a very long time to reach us – it was worth it! Each dish was delicious with lots of flavor. This is a big change to the quick pizza and sausage you can easily pick up from the street, so to us weary travelers, it was a treat! Definitely recommend a visit to the Golden Chopsticks.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    43
    8
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good Chinese reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amsterdam has a rich heritage and choice of good Chinese restaurants. This is not really a restaurant, more an eat & go, as you don't going to sit down for a long time with for example a dessert.

The place does not look fancy, but is clean and well located near the Damsquare in Amsterdam. The food is real good value for money, what you see is what you get nothing more, nothing less, no fancy stuff.

The service is fast an adequate. Beijing Duck and Beef in blackbean sauce are my favorite.

This is not a place to go for a romantic or extensive business dinner. Just eat and go.

The dinner guest is a mix of locals and Chinese tourists.

This is one of my favorite places in Amsterdam for a fast Chinese bite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, strange credit card practices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you're going to do Chinese, you may as well do it in actual Chinatown here, on the edge of that Red Light District that you will soon be strolling through. We saw a number of Chinese diners inside and they say that's a positive sign. Everything we ordered was delicious, including THE largest bowl of mussels I've ever seen. You know they're fresh when a couple had little bits of barnacle on the shells! Prices weren't too bad although the issue my friend had was that the restaurant would not accept his perfectly valid credit card because it did not possess the high-techy chip inside. They were perfectly capable of swiping this card as well as any other, but they refused. So if you have un-chipped cards, make sure you are packing cash here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Feels like Hong Kong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Golden Chopsticks feels like a typical Hong Kong non fancy restaurant.
You get good food, standard service and no special treatment. My friends and I really enjoyed the lunch and the athmosphere...
It's quite expensive though but we got the impression, that eating outside in Amsterdam has it's price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Classic good basic chinese resto”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

No frills chinese resto, menu in extensive but not complete, specially on the low/cheap range the choice is rather limited, on the upper class meals section i would be very picky since the resto is not elegant not the kitchen is michelin stars, so i won't waste money on anything fancy.
On the upper hands there is the fact that the kitchen is open till late, you don't need reservation and is reasonably fast.
If you looking to a meal to impress, look next door.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Chopsticks also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Golden Chopsticks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Chopsticks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.