We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great final meal of the holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ko Chang Thai restaurant

Ko Chang Thai restaurant
Bosboom Toussaintstraat 60 | 1054 AV, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #271 of 2,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: same owners from Ko Chang in Westerstraat, Jordaan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“great final meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

we chose this restaurant based on trip advisor reviews. we booked a table for 8 and could not be happier with the choice.
the beer was served in stubby holders which i loved as it stayed cold all through the meal. for Amsterdam i thought the prices where good, it came to around 35 euro ahead and that was with starters and drinks, the portions were a good size too.
a couple of the girls found their curries spicier than they expected but that was due to the food being wonderfully authentic in style and they certainly still managed to eat it all.
the staff were great, attentive and very friendly. would recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Thai EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Ko Chang serves the best Thai food I've ever had. It was so tasty, a bit spicey but wonderful. There were four of us including 3 Vietnamese who know Thai food. All of us were amazed with the flavors of the dishes. I believe the owner is from the UK and he and his friend wait on tables. The service is a little slow but but the wait is well worth it. Can't suggest a specific dish but don't miss thes gem ifyou are visiting Amsterdam. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American In Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is an excellent Thai restaurant. My wife and I have tried several Thai places in Amsterdam and this is one of our favorites. Try the Beef Kra Tiem Prik Thai, they will make it very spicy if you ask them to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the outside this restaurant doesn't look much but it is well worth going in.
Reasonably priced (for an expensive city such as Amsterdam), excellent quality and friendly service. I would highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, honest Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Haute Cuisine? No. Very good, honest Thai food? Yes!

2nd location of Ko change, and much needed since the place on the westerstraat is tiny and usually full. This new location is more spacious, and adds a lovely terrace (patio) on the relatively quiet and cute Bosboom Toussainstraat.

We had an excellent meal here with 6 persons, all sharing each others mains. Everything was delicous, not too salty (as is often the case with Thai food outside Thailand), with lots of fresh, cripsy vegetables, thai herbs, good meat, shrimps, squid and fish.

Service was very friendly, and so were the prices.

We'll certainly go here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ko Chang Thai restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Ko Chang Thai restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ko Chang Thai restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.