We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amigo Budget Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amigo Budget Hostel to your Saves list
Amigo Budget Hostel
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Linnaeusstraat 199, 1093EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is your typical European youth hostel. The prices are low, so don't expect much. We were in a 8-person co-ed room, but had no problems. They have lockers in all of the rooms which you can use to store your stuff, but bring your own lock because they charge money to use theirs. The steps to get to the lobby and from the lobby to the rooms are VERY steep and plentiful, so if this is a problem for you then avoid this place. There was only or two bathrooms/showers per floor (for about 10-15 people). The front desk guys were very nice. There is a coffee shop about 10 minutes away, but other than that the location isn't great. The city center, which is where you want to be at night, is about a 20 minute tram ride away and the closest tram station is a 5 minute walk away. The lobby has a bunch of coupons for local attractions, so check that out before going out.

Room Tip: I think that they do have private rooms but those are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    47
    19
    33
See reviews for
2
7
33
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed in a private 3 bedroom room for around €100 for three nights. For the money, I'd say what we got was great value.
The room wasn't massive, but plenty big enough for three provided you didn't plan on spending all your time in there, there was a sink and mirror in the corner and a bunk bed and one single bed to the other end of the room. The room was almost perfectly clean with only a few unidentifiable stains on the walls.
Tram stop just outside and it only takes about 10 minutes at most to get to Central Station from here. Great transport links, the only difficulty was trying to get a bus back from a night out as the trams are replaced by buses at night, other than that incredibly easy to get to though. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, even advising us on the best places to go and giving us money off vouchers, they did their best to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Communal shower and bathroom was clean, though did smell slightly due to poor ventilation, but that is to be expected from a bathroom that probably around 30 people share.
Quite intimidating front steps to begin with but once you've done them once or twice you get used to it, very steep but just make sure you get your balance right so you don't go tumbling down and you'll be fine.
The only downside to the stay was the building site right outside the window that always seemed to be louder first thing in a morning than any other time, but this is not the hotels fault so I wont mark it against them, other than that, really enjoyed my stay.
Would stay here again if I was ever in Amsterdam again, very good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, had a great time! very close to the tramlines (5 minute journey into main centre) unfortunately clubs seem to be only open on weekends which is a shame but it was still a great stay! staff were very friendly and helpful, anything you ask them they would be able to answer. would definitely recommend amigo hostel! but make sure you bring a mini fan!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a short hotel in this hostel. It is right next to the team stop and getting into town is really easy, the staff are friendly, the rooms are decent and it's all clean and fairly modern. Wifi is only really available in the communal area but it wasn't a problem for me. Only downside is the horrifically steep steps you after clamber up after a night out!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I can recommend this hostel. Nothing special, just what you would expect it to be. Clean, friendly staff, ok room size. The biggest drawback could be the very steep steps, but it's just how Dutch people build I guess. I think I would stay there again if I can't find something more in the city. Even it I have to pay more - from this one you need to take the tram, and the few euros you save on the hostel you then spend on commuting.

Room Tip: Rooms from the street get quite noisy in the mornings - I think they have rooms on the other side to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I would recommend Amigo Hostel to young backpackers and travellers. The rooms aren't huge but they were plenty big enough for us, and they have a sink in each room which is handy as the bathrooms are shared. The bathrooms themselves are on the small side but they're fine. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful whenever we asked for directions or recommendations. The only drawback would be the very steep staircase into the hostel - the steepest set of stairs I've ever seen. The hostel is quite far outside the city centre, but very easily accessible by trams. Overall there's a nice friendly atmosphere in this hostel and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Myself and two others stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm for 3 nights! It was very clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful and were great at giving advice on best places to go and how to get there!
The only bad points is that the stairs at the entrance are scarily steep, so taking luggage up and down was a bit of a nightmare! Also, the free wifi did not reach our room which was a bit annoying, but that might not be the case if you were to be put in a different room!
The showers and toilet were modern and well looked after, cleaned daily!
The location is quite far out from the main square, but the tram is easy enough to use and is situated right outside the hostel, and takes about 15 minutes to get into the centre. I presume it runs all night as we caught one at 4am one morning, and it works out much cheaper than a taxi!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the reception floor or first floor if you have a lot of luggage, or you will f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amigo Budget Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Budget Hostel

Address: Linnaeusstraat 199, 1093EN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Amigo Budget Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amigo Budget Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigo Budget Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.