We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Birthday present!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breitner House

Save Saved
You added Breitner House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breitner House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Oosterpark 87-88, 1092 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Birthday present!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Firstly, let me say that I never write reviews, but this is the first place that really and thoroughly deserves it and it's not because it's a fancy 7 star hotel, but because it's a home to home experience you were always waiting for! I took my gilfriend for her 25th birthday there and I've spent hours on the booking/tripadvisor/hotels.com websites looking for that magical place! Guess what, I found it! The best about this place, and you will find it in every single review you read, is the owners - Camilla and Guido. It feels like coming home to your grandparents or parents depending on your age obviously:) They are absolutely welcoming and adorable, make you feel special and loved. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and will surely be coming back! Location is good as it's only 4-5 stops by bus to the city center (bus stop around the corner) and it's next to the massive park that during the warmer days is absolute vital, I've been told that during the summer the park is full of action! The house itself is awesome and if you are young couple or looking to bring that spark back into your relationship I would strongly recommend the room with the garden downstairs as it's so honeymoon style! You don't need to plan anything in advance in terms of the sightseeing as Guido will tell you all about Amsterdam, where to go and what to do. Don't hesitate to ask for any advice, help or guidance, the owners are always there for you to help! 5/5 experience and don't think twice if you want to make it a special treat for your other half, she will appreciate it! Camilla made sure that the big day would be magical and Guido has kindly bought the birthday cake and some candles! As the previous reviewer has correctly noticed, if you are looking for a home away from home in a historic, romantic and beautifully appointed house, with a suite that allows you the peace & tranquillity you require & you want to be treated not only like a foreign dignitary but as a member of the family this IS the place for you!

There are so many good things I can tell you about this place, but a lot of people did mention it already in the previous reviews, so I can only justify that it's all true!!! Anyway, you only need to read a few of them and take a look at the overall rating/pictures to make the best decision in your life!

Have a great stay ar Breitner House and send our regards to Camilla and Guido as we are surely be coming back!

P.S. If you want the best rates, go direct! There is the website for Breitner House and it should not be too difficult to find the contacts of Camilla or Guido.

All the best,
Alex and Jen

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs has a garden and is very romantic, think honeymoon. Room upstairs has a great bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
91
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Firstly, thanks to Camilla & Guido (not to forget Terry too!!!) who are two of the most interesting, warm & personable people I have ever met.

Having stayed at many of the 5 star establishments in Amsterdam over the last 20 years, including the Okura, the Grand & Pulitzer this beautifully appointed suite beat them all; hands down....why you may ask? Because this little gem has the character & charm of a real home from home. The suite is a cornucopia of treasures, lovingly brought together by the hosts over the last 20 years. In addition it had access to the garden straight out of our room, which as a smoker was a real treat in these draconian times!!

Location was perfect overlooking Ousterpark and away from the maddening crowds of stag & hen weekends, window lickers & dope fiends that can be found nearer the centre.

Now onto the BREAKFAST....WOW, I have never been so spoilt! the range & variety provided. Every 5 minutes Guido would pop back to the table with a little delicacy to try, I would recommend the mini pancakes, these are to die for!! Nothing was too much trouble, you want matjes? no problem, home made Dutch apple cake? of course! All was excellently prepared by Guido & ably assisted by Camilla who kept refilling my Prosecco (which was a veritable delight; drinking at 10am in the morning should of made me feel guilty but not one guilty thought crossed my mind, as we were being decadent!).

So to summarise, if you want the modern clean lines of a Novotel, this is not for you. If you are after the snobby sophistication of a 5 star hotel where the staff can be a little aloof, again this is not for you. If you are looking for a home away from home in a historic & beautifully appointed house, with a suite that allows you the peace & tranquillity you require & you want to be treated not only like a foreign dignitary but as a member of the family this IS the place for you!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a first class B&B run by the owners who are very welcoming, lovely people and make the most perfect hosts, they have a beautiful charming house and the Breitner Suite is stunning. Lovely attention to detail in the room with snacks and chocolate and wine etc and nothing is too much trouble..!!!! Would totally recommend..!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have never written a review before although, I have travelled a lot and stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world. This has to be one of the nicest places I have ever visited. I almost resisted in writing as, and anyone who has visited will say I'm sure, that they would like to keep this a secret, as if others find out, they will become fully booked and we've already talked about going back in the Summer. I was hoping the reviews were true but the experience surpassed it. The trip was made so incredible because of the exceptional couple Guido and Camilla who own and run Breitner House. They are absolutely delightful and made us so welcome, we felt like family coming home. I visited with a friend and we are still laughing about the amazing time we had here and Guido's terrific sense of humour. I had read that breakfast was amazing but Guido made this legendary! Make sure you are hungry as this is truly a 'feast for the eyes' as well as the stomach. Everything you could possibly want was made available and nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like old friends. Guido drove us around and dropped us off when going out and was exceedingly helpful. This couple have got it right in every sense of the word. The rooms are so sumptuous that its hard to drag yourself away and venture out. The lovely thing about Guido and Camilla is they truly care and are a lovely, genuine couple. The weekend was an unforgettable and a magical experience. If you are going to Amsterdam and you're are looking for something very special, then look no further than this exceptional hotel, if you do, you will miss an unbelievable experience. If only there were a Breitner House in every country of the world and a Guido and a Camilla, although, somehow I doubt such an enchanting couple could be duplicated. They work so hard, they deserve every success.

Room Tip: Only two suites, each luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Although living in the Netherlands we found this marvellous place by accident. And what a find it was! The suites are wonderful, and the breakfast (the best we've ever had) was delicious, a real treat. But what makes this place even more special are the hosts. Camilla and Guido are so kind and they make you feel very welcome and special. They are very interested in other people and you can feel that they really mean it. It's like visiting friends. We'll definately go back and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordes, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the time of departure we were treated to what can only be described as the most perfect weekend one could wish for. A hotel it is not! This is our hosts home and business, although for business one should read passion. The suites are exquisite decorated in keeping with the age and style of the house but with a flair that it so unique and understandable when you look at the theatrical background to our hosts. Camilla the most elegant actress and Guido, well what can you say about Guido except he is a superb cokk and oritor. The champagne breakfasts are made up of acts in a play. Each act delivers another example of Guidos culnery skills opening up your senses to the most wonderful tastes. Will we go back - absolutely yes. Will we ever find another place that comes close to Breitner, I doubt it.
Thank you Camilla and Guido, we will forever remeber the wonderful weekend. Steve and Alison Stensel

Room Tip: Both suites are excellent, choose between Shower and Garden or luxurious bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited Amsterdam at the beginning of October 2013, and what an unforgettable experience it was. But strangely enough not because of the picturesque city, which offers the rich history and culture you’d expect from a European city but also the liveliness and spontaneity of a large modern city. Yet interestingly enough what will remain more prominently on memory lane was the hotel. The house which, as we later found out, belonged to famous Dutch painter George Hendrik Breitner, offers a true feast for the senses (I remember I felt the way I did when I first went to Disneyland as a kid). We discovered the place online by chance. The beauty of every single room, the attention to every conceivable detail, make you feel like you’re on a movie set. And once you’ve settled in and start realizing how lucky you were to come here and avoid your usual big hotel chains, then you’re in for the real treat, because the charming couple that owns and runs this hotel will make sure you feel like royalty – which is the only way to match the scenery. They also give the entire house a really personal touch which any larger hotel just can’t offer. And of course we won’t forget the enchanting breakfast buffet that makes those banquets from the Harry Potter movies look like Oliver Twist’s dinner table. This place was a unique experience compared to any hotel we’ve ever been to. And the hosts will always gladly help you not to miss any sights nor events in the city – if you manage to pick yourself up and want to go outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breitner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breitner House

Address: Oosterpark 87-88, 1092 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breitner House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most historical boutique hotel in Amsterdam: Breitner House. Staying at the park with our luxury suites we give you the highest service and unforgettable experience in an artistic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Breitner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breitner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.