We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breitner House

Save Saved
You added Breitner House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Breitner House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Oosterpark 87-88, Amsterdam 1092 AW, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I have never written a review before although, I have travelled a lot and stayed at many 5 star hotels around the world. This has to be one of the nicest places I have ever visited. I almost resisted in writing as, and anyone who has visited will say I'm sure, that they would like to keep this a secret, as if others find out, they will become fully booked and we've already talked about going back in the Summer. I was hoping the reviews were true but the experience surpassed it. The trip was made so incredible because of the exceptional couple Guido and Camilla who own and run Breitner House. They are absolutely delightful and made us so welcome, we felt like family coming home. I visited with a friend and we are still laughing about the amazing time we had here and Guido's terrific sense of humour. I had read that breakfast was amazing but Guido made this legendary! Make sure you are hungry as this is truly a 'feast for the eyes' as well as the stomach. Everything you could possibly want was made available and nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like old friends. Guido drove us around and dropped us off when going out and was exceedingly helpful. This couple have got it right in every sense of the word. The rooms are so sumptuous that its hard to drag yourself away and venture out. The lovely thing about Guido and Camilla is they truly care and are a lovely, genuine couple. The weekend was an unforgettable and a magical experience. If you are going to Amsterdam and you're are looking for something very special, then look no further than this exceptional hotel, if you do, you will miss an unbelievable experience. If only there were a Breitner House in every country of the world and a Guido and a Camilla, although, somehow I doubt such an enchanting couple could be duplicated. They work so hard, they deserve every success.

Room Tip: Only two suites, each luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baarn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Although living in the Netherlands we found this marvellous place by accident. And what a find it was! The suites are wonderful, and the breakfast (the best we've ever had) was delicious, a real treat. But what makes this place even more special are the hosts. Camilla and Guido are so kind and they make you feel very welcome and special. They are very interested in other people and you can feel that they really mean it. It's like visiting friends. We'll definately go back and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordes, France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the time of departure we were treated to what can only be described as the most perfect weekend one could wish for. A hotel it is not! This is our hosts home and business, although for business one should read passion. The suites are exquisite decorated in keeping with the age and style of the house but with a flair that it so unique and understandable when you look at the theatrical background to our hosts. Camilla the most elegant actress and Guido, well what can you say about Guido except he is a superb cokk and oritor. The champagne breakfasts are made up of acts in a play. Each act delivers another example of Guidos culnery skills opening up your senses to the most wonderful tastes. Will we go back - absolutely yes. Will we ever find another place that comes close to Breitner, I doubt it.
Thank you Camilla and Guido, we will forever remeber the wonderful weekend. Steve and Alison Stensel

Room Tip: Both suites are excellent, choose between Shower and Garden or luxurious bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We visited Amsterdam at the beginning of October 2013, and what an unforgettable experience it was. But strangely enough not because of the picturesque city, which offers the rich history and culture you’d expect from a European city but also the liveliness and spontaneity of a large modern city. Yet interestingly enough what will remain more prominently on memory lane was the hotel. The house which, as we later found out, belonged to famous Dutch painter George Hendrik Breitner, offers a true feast for the senses (I remember I felt the way I did when I first went to Disneyland as a kid). We discovered the place online by chance. The beauty of every single room, the attention to every conceivable detail, make you feel like you’re on a movie set. And once you’ve settled in and start realizing how lucky you were to come here and avoid your usual big hotel chains, then you’re in for the real treat, because the charming couple that owns and runs this hotel will make sure you feel like royalty – which is the only way to match the scenery. They also give the entire house a really personal touch which any larger hotel just can’t offer. And of course we won’t forget the enchanting breakfast buffet that makes those banquets from the Harry Potter movies look like Oliver Twist’s dinner table. This place was a unique experience compared to any hotel we’ve ever been to. And the hosts will always gladly help you not to miss any sights nor events in the city – if you manage to pick yourself up and want to go outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The stage is set. Pass through the door to Breitner House and be transported to another epoch, to a rich life of visual splendor and elegance. A woman enters from above. A lovely star of stage and screen descends the historic stairs as an angel to bestow the guest with hospitality and to become your guide to the wonders at the top of the stair. Guido completes the experience, as grand raconteur and documentarian, who now directs storied, gastronomical feasts of whatever you fancy. Their golden retriever charms you with tail-wagging greetings and smiling eyes. You are truly at home, as welcome as a lost child, as respectfully treated as a beloved king and queen. "Leave the bags, let's have a drink first, what can we offer you, anything to snack with that? Here, something small [and divine] to nibble on." What a way to unwind from your travels! Camilla and Guido have a listening ear for crafting your unique Amsterdam experience as they share a drink with you.

Of course it all began with one of the most beautiful websites ever seen for any lodging, a testament to Guido's film career and Camilla's artistry. The website had been updated the day we arrived [when visiting it, be sure to scroll down to watch the movie of the Breitner House muse].This home of 19th century painters, artisans, and writers has known wildly grand dinners, avant-garde music, and dancing. It was built to capture good light. This historic home was lost to the ages until these artists brought it back to life, to re-experience the richness of Amsterdam life, the splendor of sharing fine food and drink, and the ambience of a lush life Breitner House is not a B&B, a small luxury hotel, or a private home rental: it is an experience, a destination. Whatever your image of modern luxury, chic decor, lush textiles and grand antique furnishings is, think Belle Époque. Suspend belief. It is yours to indulge. It is time well spent with dear friends, as you are transported into a space of opulence --- a visual cornucopia of that era.

From the moment you arrive (with the cab/airport pick-up service arranged by Camilla if you want to avoid public transportation) it is different from anything you have ever experienced in any B&B (or hotel) you ever booked. Once finally relaxed yet still in awe of the gorgeous and sumptuous decorations in the greeting room, you are brought to your part of the mansion. You have a choice of two beautifully decorated guest quarters: 1) A modern, ground-level master suite adjoining a dining area, which is extraordinarily romantic (think honeymoon) and has a private garden pond/patio, or 2) another incredibly romantic, first floor traditional en-suite with fireplace, beautiful antiques and paintings of Breitner and contemporaries. It's hard to choose, but neither option will disappoint. We chose the Breitner Room (upstairs). Upon entering, one is awed by the grand mural of impressionist irises, painted by Camilla. The room decor is stunning: antique armoires, fine furnishings, silk brocade curtains, a very comfortable canopied bed, beautiful marbled bathroom with heated floors, and plentiful drinks and snacks waiting for you, at your pleasure. After a great night's sleep in this dark and quiet room, you arise to a breakfast that is simply a feast for the eye and palate. It can be prepared by Guido at any time, even if you have to depart very early, and is, truly, unmatched by any (upscale) breakfast you have ever experienced. Guido, a self-taught chef, will make your breakfast experience unforgettable: we are inspired and spoiled for life. Guido is also an excellent guide and your private concierge, with no detail too small for either Camilla or Guido: They are the consummate hosts. Their home is yours to savor.

Situated across from a large park, Breitner House is actually very close to central Amsterdam, in a beautiful neighborhood of its own. Proximate tram, bike, cab, or your own two feet will bring you where you want to be in no time. Wonderful small restaurants are nearby if you have the urge for late night dining in the area. Departure from Breitner House is, again, like leaving dear friends, but with the certainty that one day soon, you will meet again. There is no question that during our next visit to Amsterdam we will call upon Camilla and Guido again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Together with my wife I have spent three nights in the George Breitner suite on honeymoon. We felt like a King and Queen in this beautiful decorated room. It actually looked even better in real life than on the pictures of the website. Guido en Camilla are very nice people and where very kind and helpful, they showed us around in Amsterdam and we talked a lot about the Dutch film industry. Overall it was a great experience staying here and we deeply recommend spending a night or more here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I doubt you will have ever had an experience like the one you get at Breitner House, from the warm welcome to the luxurious surrounding, art and antiques, it's a feast for the eyes and the sole. My husband and I stayed in both suites and both were fabulous. I particularly liked the 'George Breitner' suite with the dramatic gold walls and huge painted iris's , beautiful fire place, the luxurious damask fabrics and a sofa big enough for 2. I had to force myself to leave the building to see Amsterdam.
As for the breakfast I have NEVER in my life had anything like it, take your time as there is often 4 or 5 courses and as a vegetarian I was really well catered for. Beautiful fruit, savoury pastries, sweet pancakes, cheese, fresh breads and ah.....bubbles. Guido puts on the most opulent spread.
There's no need to take a guide book as your hosts will fill you in on all the best places to go and if you want to take in a show just let them know and they will do there best to accommodate you.
Camilla and Guido really are the most fabulous hosts and we left feeling total revived and utterly spoilt.

Room Tip: Isaac Israels - crisp sophisticated, soothing neutrals and blacks double doors lead out onto a garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breitner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breitner House

Address: Oosterpark 87-88, Amsterdam 1092 AW, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breitner House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most historical boutique hotel in Amsterdam: Breitner House. Staying at the park with our luxury suites we give you the highest service and unforgettable experience in an artistic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Breitner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breitner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.