We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond imagination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breitner House

Save Saved
You added Breitner House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Breitner House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Oosterpark 87-88, Amsterdam 1092 AW, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New Haven
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beyond imagination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The stage is set. Pass through the door to Breitner House and be transported to another epoch, to a rich life of visual splendor and elegance. A woman enters from above. A lovely star of stage and screen descends the historic stairs as an angel to bestow the guest with hospitality and to become your guide to the wonders at the top of the stair. Guido completes the experience, as grand raconteur and documentarian, who now directs storied, gastronomical feasts of whatever you fancy. Their golden retriever charms you with tail-wagging greetings and smiling eyes. You are truly at home, as welcome as a lost child, as respectfully treated as a beloved king and queen. "Leave the bags, let's have a drink first, what can we offer you, anything to snack with that? Here, something small [and divine] to nibble on." What a way to unwind from your travels! Camilla and Guido have a listening ear for crafting your unique Amsterdam experience as they share a drink with you.

Of course it all began with one of the most beautiful websites ever seen for any lodging, a testament to Guido's film career and Camilla's artistry. The website had been updated the day we arrived [when visiting it, be sure to scroll down to watch the movie of the Breitner House muse].This home of 19th century painters, artisans, and writers has known wildly grand dinners, avant-garde music, and dancing. It was built to capture good light. This historic home was lost to the ages until these artists brought it back to life, to re-experience the richness of Amsterdam life, the splendor of sharing fine food and drink, and the ambience of a lush life Breitner House is not a B&B, a small luxury hotel, or a private home rental: it is an experience, a destination. Whatever your image of modern luxury, chic decor, lush textiles and grand antique furnishings is, think Belle Époque. Suspend belief. It is yours to indulge. It is time well spent with dear friends, as you are transported into a space of opulence --- a visual cornucopia of that era.

From the moment you arrive (with the cab/airport pick-up service arranged by Camilla if you want to avoid public transportation) it is different from anything you have ever experienced in any B&B (or hotel) you ever booked. Once finally relaxed yet still in awe of the gorgeous and sumptuous decorations in the greeting room, you are brought to your part of the mansion. You have a choice of two beautifully decorated guest quarters: 1) A modern, ground-level master suite adjoining a dining area, which is extraordinarily romantic (think honeymoon) and has a private garden pond/patio, or 2) another incredibly romantic, first floor traditional en-suite with fireplace, beautiful antiques and paintings of Breitner and contemporaries. It's hard to choose, but neither option will disappoint. We chose the Breitner Room (upstairs). Upon entering, one is awed by the grand mural of impressionist irises, painted by Camilla. The room decor is stunning: antique armoires, fine furnishings, silk brocade curtains, a very comfortable canopied bed, beautiful marbled bathroom with heated floors, and plentiful drinks and snacks waiting for you, at your pleasure. After a great night's sleep in this dark and quiet room, you arise to a breakfast that is simply a feast for the eye and palate. It can be prepared by Guido at any time, even if you have to depart very early, and is, truly, unmatched by any (upscale) breakfast you have ever experienced. Guido, a self-taught chef, will make your breakfast experience unforgettable: we are inspired and spoiled for life. Guido is also an excellent guide and your private concierge, with no detail too small for either Camilla or Guido: They are the consummate hosts. Their home is yours to savor.

Situated across from a large park, Breitner House is actually very close to central Amsterdam, in a beautiful neighborhood of its own. Proximate tram, bike, cab, or your own two feet will bring you where you want to be in no time. Wonderful small restaurants are nearby if you have the urge for late night dining in the area. Departure from Breitner House is, again, like leaving dear friends, but with the certainty that one day soon, you will meet again. There is no question that during our next visit to Amsterdam we will call upon Camilla and Guido again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Together with my wife I have spent three nights in the George Breitner suite on honeymoon. We felt like a King and Queen in this beautiful decorated room. It actually looked even better in real life than on the pictures of the website. Guido en Camilla are very nice people and where very kind and helpful, they showed us around in Amsterdam and we talked a lot about the Dutch film industry. Overall it was a great experience staying here and we deeply recommend spending a night or more here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I doubt you will have ever had an experience like the one you get at Breitner House, from the warm welcome to the luxurious surrounding, art and antiques, it's a feast for the eyes and the sole. My husband and I stayed in both suites and both were fabulous. I particularly liked the 'George Breitner' suite with the dramatic gold walls and huge painted iris's , beautiful fire place, the luxurious damask fabrics and a sofa big enough for 2. I had to force myself to leave the building to see Amsterdam.
As for the breakfast I have NEVER in my life had anything like it, take your time as there is often 4 or 5 courses and as a vegetarian I was really well catered for. Beautiful fruit, savoury pastries, sweet pancakes, cheese, fresh breads and ah.....bubbles. Guido puts on the most opulent spread.
There's no need to take a guide book as your hosts will fill you in on all the best places to go and if you want to take in a show just let them know and they will do there best to accommodate you.
Camilla and Guido really are the most fabulous hosts and we left feeling total revived and utterly spoilt.

Room Tip: Isaac Israels - crisp sophisticated, soothing neutrals and blacks double doors lead out onto a garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wow! Oh Wow!

We just returned from a two day stay at Breitner House and could not fault it in any way. Everything was perfect. First of all we arrived very early (way before check in time) and the lovely hosts offered us hot drinks, proseco and the most delicious pastry I have ever eaten in my life (home made) and welcomed us warmly with entertaining conversation and city tips and advice.

Then when we came to our Israels suite it was just gorgeous. Classic tasteful decor, attention to detail +++, with candles everywhere, romantic light fixtures, a fire place, a sitting area with a big bold coffee table, wine, chocolates, snacks, and fruits and bottled Hildon water adorned the room.

The bed was very soft and comfy, with a soft white duvet, and had a sweet white sheer curtain and canopy and I felt just like some kind of spoiled European aristocrat! Next to the bed there are huge floor to ceiling windows and a door leading out to the romantic garden outside. Even though it rained most of the time during out stay; we used the garden to get air and have a smoke so it was very nice to have that private space.The bathroom had big windows opening up to the beautiful garden below and had a rain shower and modern his and hers sinks, lots of space to put your things and move around comfortably. Although you feel you have entered another century in this wonderful suite, it is fully equipped with all mod cons - flat screen TV with loads of channels and radio access, nespresso machine, tea kettle, mini bar fridge , highly functioning thermostat, electric fire place, light dimmers, etc. We heard no noise from the street/ other part of the building and felt completely at ease.

Then, there is the breakfast! What a delight! Fruit, cheese, eggs, cake, pastries, freshly squeezed blood orange, hot drinks, proseco, whatever your heart desires and then some more! Guido is a master chef and prepares excellent food of michelin star quality/ presentation as if its no trouble at all. I really never had a breakfast like this before and probably never will again (until the next time we return!).

The warm hearts and hospitality of Guido and Camilla will really make a lasting impression on you, nothing is too much trouble and they value and take pride in treating guests with consideration and sensitivity. Guido kindly took us in his own car to the Okura hotel where I had left my pretty umbrella the night before in the restaurant there, and waited so patiently while my husband searched for the umbrella for about 30 minutes. He also prepared a going away snack for us (a fried cheese pastry served with mustard - sooo yummy) just before we left for the airport (long after we had checked out). I was also touched by the fact that they asked for feedback at the end of our stay, which shows how seriously they take on board guest preferences and guest comfort.

My husband and I had to agree that although we had not planned for this to be a second honeymoon, it turned out to be a honeymoon indeed because this place will bring the romance out of you, it is so beautiful and sensual and engaging of all your senses. Love was certainly in the air there. Camilla and Guido have both worked in the arts throughout their lives and Breitner House is no exception, I am definitley going to be stealing some interior design ideas from them!

The tram stops just outside the House and so it is quite easy to get where ever you want to go from here.

Thank you again Camilla and Guido for everything!

Room Tip: There are two gorgeous suites, both equally beautiful so don't worry about where you stay! We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My brother and his wife stayed here and absolutely raved about it, so I thought, I've never been to Amsterdam, so booked five nights. You know when you visit the website of a hotel and arrive and are slightly deflated that it doesn't appear to match up and is rather impersonal? Well, this place is the precise opposite.

From the moment we arrived, near midnight, due to a delayed flight, we were greeted by Camilla who took us in to the kitchen by the fire for some midnight snacks and wine; then in to the most opulent suite stocked with beautiful furniture with tremendous natural lighting to suit the painters who once occupied the House) to the glorious, death-defying feast of a breakfast served up by Guido each morning; we were blown away. My wife is vegetarian and the breakfast prepared for her each day was truly magnificent, just another example of the exceptional attention to detail and charm of the place and its hosts.

Such interesting, kind people in a magnificent historical house set a little outside the centre, which is perfect really, meaning you don't get the late night cacophony of the city. We followed Guido's suggestions of where to go, and what to do, mixed in with some of our own ideas, and managed to see pretty much the whole city at a leisurely pace.

It is worth spending that little extra to come here, you will truly be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We have never had a better lodging experience. Our suite was huge, beautifully decorated and stocked with wine, snacks, juices, a luxurious comfortable bed and fresh flowers. Guido and Camilla are the best hosts imaginable, Dutch hospitality at its finest. The breakfast alone is worth the nightly rate, the Breitner House is a bargain in so many ways.

The location is on a fairly busy street across from the Oosterpark, but it is quiet. There is a tram stop next to the house, you're only about 10 minutes from the Rijks Museum area.

One caveat: If you have any mobility issues, the upstairs suite is not the place for you. Steep, tiny stairs and several steps up and down into your bathroom.

We stayed only two nights, I wish it had been at least four! You can't go wrong when you see 50+ reviews! all with 5 out of 5 ratings. Enjoy!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It has been 5 days since my experience with Breitner House regrettably concluded. This B& B owned by Guido and Camilla would have to be the best away from home stay I have ever had and I have travelled many times. If Prince Philip had the opportunity to stay there, I am sure when he got back to the palace he would sell the corgies, list the home with Remax London and move over.
This B & B offered a wonderful breakfast, luxurious room and fillings, close to all Amsterdam highlights, and if that was not enough It came with the support and care of the owners.
I would recommend this residence absolutely.
In conclusion I would like to thank Guido & Camilla for assisting my wife locate deceased relatives in The Hague. . A very special thank you regards Greg

Room Tip: Sorry, no pool. For the mature couple who enjoy refinement,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Breitner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breitner House

Address: Oosterpark 87-88, Amsterdam 1092 AW, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breitner House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most historical boutique hotel in Amsterdam: Breitner House. Staying at the park with our luxury suites we give you the highest service and unforgettable experience in an artistic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Breitner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breitner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.