We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home, beautiful hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breitner House

Save Saved
You added Breitner House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breitner House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Oosterpark 87-88, 1092 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Orange, California, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, beautiful hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We have never had a better lodging experience. Our suite was huge, beautifully decorated and stocked with wine, snacks, juices, a luxurious comfortable bed and fresh flowers. Guido and Camilla are the best hosts imaginable, Dutch hospitality at its finest. The breakfast alone is worth the nightly rate, the Breitner House is a bargain in so many ways.

The location is on a fairly busy street across from the Oosterpark, but it is quiet. There is a tram stop next to the house, you're only about 10 minutes from the Rijks Museum area.

One caveat: If you have any mobility issues, the upstairs suite is not the place for you. Steep, tiny stairs and several steps up and down into your bathroom.

We stayed only two nights, I wish it had been at least four! You can't go wrong when you see 50+ reviews! all with 5 out of 5 ratings. Enjoy!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
93
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

It has been 5 days since my experience with Breitner House regrettably concluded. This B& B owned by Guido and Camilla would have to be the best away from home stay I have ever had and I have travelled many times. If Prince Philip had the opportunity to stay there, I am sure when he got back to the palace he would sell the corgies, list the home with Remax London and move over.
This B & B offered a wonderful breakfast, luxurious room and fillings, close to all Amsterdam highlights, and if that was not enough It came with the support and care of the owners.
I would recommend this residence absolutely.
In conclusion I would like to thank Guido & Camilla for assisting my wife locate deceased relatives in The Hague. . A very special thank you regards Greg

Room Tip: Sorry, no pool. For the mature couple who enjoy refinement,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Breitner House ranks beyond our wildest imaginings. We had thought perhaps the reviews here were exaggerated. However, words cannot capture the ambiance, decor, drama and hospitality created by Camilla and Guido, two supremely talented, warm, interesting people. Frankly, I was hooked on their website by the offer of a formal, opulent breakfast. Well, who could have predicted prosciutto and melon, salmon en croute, quail eggs, and poffertjies - those scrumptious tiny Dutch pancakes drenched in powdered sugar - plus breads and cheeses, and meats amidst a profusion of fruits and flowers straight out of a painting from the Golden Age of Holland? Did I not mention the supreme comfort of out ground floor suite? (I would have liked to have carted the mattress home with me!) And the great effort Guido made, providing a perfect breakfast at 6am on our departure? Breitner House is FIND! Don't tell too many people.....

Room Tip: The ground floor suite has access through Camilla's shop during business hours, thus avoiding ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

More than a stay, this was a fantastic experience. Not only the beautifully decorated property but especially the attention from Camilla and Guido. They are very pleasant hosts and will do whatever possible to help you like old friends and make your stay a most memorable one. Due to a delayed overseas flight, we arrived late in the evening. Feeling we were tired to go out and restaurants nearby were about to close, Camilla went into the rain to bring us some tasteful dishes from a place nearby, while we were sipping a glass of wine, eating some delicious appetizers and hearing interesting stories from Guido, despite the fact they had to wake up early next morning. Large and very comfortable suites with elegant decor, plenty of artwork, good complimentary wine and delicious snacks/sweets. We are seasoned travelers, have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, but nothing compares to the breakfast prepared by Guido in that elegant setting. The stopover in Amsterdam was the beginning of our trip to Europe. We stayed in nice villas and hotels in the continuation of our trip, but we must confess we got so much spoiled at Breitner House that it created a new standard to be matched. Now we understand the perfect ratings of this property at tripadvisor and booking.com which prompted us to pick it in our short stay. We rarely write hotel reviews, but we feel like this was deserved by the special hosts we had the fortunate to meet there. We will certainly return with more time to enjoy it.

Room Tip: There are only 2 suites. We stayed in the one on the upper floor which was very nice and with a huge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

You walk into your hotel and are greeted as you are the most important person in the world,nothing is to much trouble for our beautiful hosts.you are like you are in your own very tale,your room is beautiful,the fresh linen,tea and coffee facilities,special little sweets,and complimentary bar,you just don't receive those finer things normally in a hotel.Okay well your breakfast you will never experience anything like it anywhere,I will keep you wondering.Our hosts just can't do enough for you they have much love and thought for others.Your hotel is so close to the city the trams are so easy you number 7 and number 9 and Guido will help with anything you need to get around Amsterdam.Dear Camilla is a lady of much elegance.Thank you to Guido and Camilla for all the care you have given to me.In ending I highly recommend their hotel to all and wish them many years of great success.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and me recently stayed out Breitner House for four nights. This turned out to be our best ever holiday experfience. We were made to feel very welcome and very special. Our host Guido absolutely delighted in cooking up a very special breakfast for us every morning, nothing was to difficult and my wife and me thoroughly enjoyed trying and tasting all different dishes and drinks served up. The bathroom was like you here in a royal palace, and I thoroughly enjoyed laying and stretching out in a hot bath every day!Absolutely beautiful! Guido advised us on the best places to see and visit in Amsterdam including best places to go shopping! Yummee!. Guido and Camilla made us feel like were part of their family and we felt like they absolutely wanted us there. We did feel a tinge of sadness when we left because we had such a wonderful time. Guido and Camilla are genuine nice people and honestly you havent had a holiday until you have stayed at Breitner House. You must try it for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have stayed many places in Amsterdam over the last 20 years, but none of them come close to the experience of the Breitner House. Truly, Camilla and Guido have created an elegant haven. The rooms are elegant, comfortable, and unique. Camilla and Guido are the consummate hosts; you feel more like a pampered friend than a paying customer. The breakfast - over the top. I wish we could have stayed longer, but will definitely send all my friends to Breitner House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breitner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breitner House

Address: Oosterpark 87-88, 1092 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breitner House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the most historical boutique hotel in Amsterdam: Breitner House. Staying at the park with our luxury suites we give you the highest service and unforgettable experience in an artistic ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Breitner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breitner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.